Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Magic: The Gathering» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dominating Licid? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Arturo Ron
United States
Miami
FL
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
T: Dominating Licid loses this ability and becomes a creature enchantment that reads "Gain control of enchanted creature" instead of any other type of permanent. Move Dominating Licid onto target creature. You may pay U to end this effect.

If I block with a creature I have gained control of with the licid can I end the effect after damage is dealt if the blocking creature is going to die?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duncan
New Zealand
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, if the creature has been dealt lethal damage it dies as a state based action. State based actions are handled before either player gets priority and you need to have priority to end the dominating licid's effect.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrés Santiago Pérez-Bergquist
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yup, and if you end the Licid’s effect before combat damage, the creature is removed from combat because its controller changed. There is no way to both have the creature die from combat damage and keep the Licid. (Back when combat damage used the stack, you could, but that hasn’t been the case for over eight years.)
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McEvoy
Canada
Mountain
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
blueart1 wrote:
T: Dominating Licid loses this ability and becomes a creature enchantment that reads "Gain control of enchanted creature" instead of any other type of permanent. Move Dominating Licid onto target creature. You may pay U to end this effect.


When citing the text of any old card with rules questions, your very first step should be to look up the card's actual current wording (at, among other places, gatherer.wizards.com), and quote that. In the case of Dominating Licid the differences are subtle (it uses some outdated terminology), but it's a good practice because there are some cards where the behavior with current text is substantially different (see Lotus Vale, for instance).


The current text of Dominating Licid is:


"
1UU, Tap: Dominating Licid loses this ability and becomes an Aura enchantment with enchant creature. Attach it to target creature. You may pay U to end this effect.
You control enchanted creature.
"
http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=dom...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.