Subject: See through cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Leon Kerkhoff
Colombia
flag msg tools
mb
Hi geeks

I am thinking about a boardgame project that might make use of clear plastic cards (I´m talking about the see through type used for mystic vale and such). I have no experience with these, never played any games with them nor designed anything involving them. So, before I dive into it I would like to know a little bit more about them.

I´m sure plastic cards will be more expensive than cardboard but how much? Double, triple, tenfold? I don´t have a clue.

Where would these kind of cards be available? Would it be difficult to find a place where they can make clear plastic MICRO cards (a quarter the size of a regular poker deck)? And would your average printshop in the street be able to print on clear plastic (for prototyping)?

I imagine that, for instance, if you have a regular white card with icons and stats, and you want to add see through cards to change the stats, there is a limit to how many additions you can make. So how many clear cards can be added before readability gets bad? Just 1, or lots?

Any answers to these questions, additional information or personal experiences are really appreciated!

Cheers, Leon

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JPotter
United States
Tulsa
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
I enjoy designing / manufacturing game components and upgrades. Got a project? PM!
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
How many cards do you need?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brendan Riley
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Nos operamur, te ludere
badge
"Life is more fun if you play games." - Roald Dahl
mbmbmbmbmb
For prototyping, you should be able to print on transparencies (the plastic sheets teachers used to use in classrooms before digital projectors were common) and cut those apart.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Pillai
France
Paris
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmb