Derek Strand
Canada
Langley
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
MASK Crusaders... working overtime... fighting crime... fighting crime!!! Secret Raiders...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We are really enjoying Charterstone.

When you use a building that gives you a card (ex. item card) from the advancement deck, are you only able to take an item card if it is face-up on the advancement board, OR are you allowed to look through the advancement (facedown) deck and take an item card from there?

We are noticing that there are many buildings that give you the option to take a certain type of card from the advancement deck. Please clarify if you can? Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dejan Tusar
Slovenia
Ljubljana
flag msg tools
You can only take one of the face up cards. If none of the face up cards is of that specific type then you cannot get it.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Israel Waldrom
New Zealand
Dunedin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Face up only - this is referenced in rule 7.1.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy McMahon
Australia
Goulburn
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The rules do say face up only, though perhaps searching would be better for most of the cards (except maybe some of the super powerful cards) as otherwise those buildings are practically useless. But it would extend the game somewhat and lead to more downtime. Maybe they should all wipe the 5 showing (if desired) and reveal 5 more to try to increase the chances of getting one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamey Stegmaier
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The key to these buildings is that you need to time your use of them well. Do not add more opportunities to wipe the advancement mat, as that will just add frustration for players who are targeting a specific card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek Strand
Canada
Langley
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
MASK Crusaders... working overtime... fighting crime... fighting crime!!! Secret Raiders...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I was hoping that the rule was not what was stated above because it does make buildings like the Crafter building not all that useful. In my plays, we rarely, if ever, use those buildings because the cards are not presently face-up. It seems logical that you would be allowed to look through the deck for the first available card and then reshuffle the deck into a face-down pile.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.