BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: New Game Advice. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ethan Harrison
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Hi Everyone.
I'm totally new to this. I just finished my first prototype board game. Could anyone recommend a company to send it to or tell me what I should change first? Thanks.

Dear Mr Blah Blah
Please review my game submission; ‘The Festival Game’. Exciting, humorous, family game featuring the mega-popular festival paradigm.

Market/ Age Range:

Though the game is not solely aimed at everyone who went to a festival over the past fifteen years and should broadly appeal to anyone with a keen interest in board games, this huge, and practically unpenetrated, market is impossible to ignore and would logically contain a high percentage of potential custom. According to a wide range of statistical sources well over 3.5 million people attended a UK music festival in 2016 alone, and this vast figure is set to continue growing. Demographic figures suggest +16 - 60 age range all significantly represented. Average festival ticket prices are in excess of £180 so expendable income is guaranteed. Also concentrated and established social hubs simplify advertising campaigns.

Similar Titles:
There is currently only one other title currently supplying this market; Festival - a slightly more complicated, and lengthy homemade - no help from a company - board game recently funded on Kickstarter. Info available on internet.

The Festival Game/ Play Time:
Approx-
1-2 Players 30 mins
1-4 players 1 Hour
1-6 Players +1 Hour

Players:
1-6 (*8 would work but would require a larger box.)

Components:
1 x Box (26 cm x 26 cm x 5 cm)
1 x Board (50cm x 50cm)
1 x Six-Sided Dice (I have designed a dice with 'Footprints' for dots - very popular)
1 x Set of Rules (1 x Double Sided A5)
100 x Cards (5.5 cm x 8.5 cm) All Individual Text + 10 Blank
6 x Plastic Cylinders (Diameter 30 mm x Height 24 mm) 6 Different Colours