Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Terraforming Mars» Forums » Rules

Subject: When Drawing Cards NOT during the Research Phase... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Will McDonald
United States
Harrah
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you get to draw a card(s) outside of the Research Phase, say,
from Development Center or from placing a tile on a space that
gives card(s) as a reward, do you get to automatically KEEP it
or must you PAY 3MC to keep it in your hand?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel King
United States
Franklin
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule is that you get to keep cards that you draw for free unless the ability telling you to draw a card explicitly says that you must pay.
23 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will McDonald
United States
Harrah
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Awesome.
Thanks Daniel.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
RyuSora
Brazil
Sao Paulo
Brazil
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As the base game goes, there are only 2 cards that gives you the option to BUY the card or discard it. And those 2 cards clearly say 'BUY or discard'. And by buy, it means pay 3mc to keep them in your hand.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
G K
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
ryusora wrote:
As the base game goes, there are only 2 cards that gives you the option to BUY the card or discard it. And those 2 cards clearly say 'BUY or discard'. And by buy, it means pay 3mc to keep them in your hand.


There are a also few that say pay X (money or energy) or discard a card to draw. They're clear about the up front cost, but you pay before you draw and the new card goes into your hand whether or not it turns out to be one you want.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.