Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

War in the Pacific: 1941-1945» Forums » Rules

Subject: clarifying naval battle victory rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
vince Garner
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
9.5 states the lower CF in a naval battle retreats. When determining CF are combat values of air units and pairs of carriers and naval units taken into account?
Do a all available units have to participate in acombat? In particular, does an air unit have to participate in an adjacent naval combat? The owner of the air unit may not want to risk it getting damaged before it's later participation in say, an amphibious invasion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Pole

Winkleigh
Devon
msg tools
designer
Vince,

The CF for Rule 9.5.1 is as calculated per Rule 9.3.1, so all of the factors you describe are taken into account.

Yes, all units eligible to participate in combat automatically do so. There are two reasons for this: (1) simplicity/playability; and (2) realism as it serves to reduce the forensic control over local actions which the gamer, as supreme commander, is able to exercise.

Regards,



Steve
6.1.18
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.