Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Charterstone» Forums » Rules

Subject: Regular game rules (spoiler?) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Moore
United States
Oak Ridge
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, this is concerning me a little....

Can you still open crates and build buildings after the campaign? That still seems a little legacy-ish.

if so, when you open a crate does everything happen like in the campaign - you get stuff in front of you, possible rules, stuff into the general supply? Same with buildings?

We played 2 player so there are a lot of empty sky islands. Do these get filled up? Can you cover up existing buildings, etc?

argh! (Charley Brown style)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Final rules spoiler

Spoiler (click to reveal)
When you finish, you unlock the ability to do an "optional building construction" and an "optional crate opening."

You can still construct buildings and open crates as normal, but as you can imagine, this will eventually lead to a game where you no longer have any buildings to build or crates to open, leaving the Zeppelin, Charterstone, and some other buildings useless. That's still viable if you want to play that way.

Alternatively, you can do the optional version of those things. Pay the influence, gain the victory points, but don't actually build the building or open the crate, leaving the advancement card intact for the future.

Personally, I've toyed with the idea of a house rule that the final board state at the end of the campaign should remain more or less the same, as another record of how the campaign played out. I'd disallow building new buildings except on any empty plots and disallow opening crates. Either of these restrictions can be vetoed if everybody at the table agrees.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Ward
United States
Newport News
VA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Another option, post campaign, is have everyone who played dig through the Index and pull out buildings they would like to put on sky islands, or to cover buildings on the board that you never see used. Once that's done, you can use the optional build and unlock rules for the Commons buildings.

It's just an option, it's totally up to you!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Israel Waldrom
New Zealand
Dunedin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kredal wrote:
Another option, post campaign, is have everyone who played dig through the Index and pull out buildings they would like to put on sky islands, or to cover buildings on the board that you never see used. Once that's done, you can use the optional build and unlock rules for the Commons buildings.

It's just an option, it's totally up to you!


+1 to this.

This allows the players to focus more on the mechanics of the game, rather than spending their effort hunting down the few remaining buildings/crates so that they can be added to the board and finally putting the last pieces into place.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy McMahon
Australia
Goulburn
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
mogust wrote:
kredal wrote:
Another option, post campaign, is have everyone who played dig through the Index and pull out buildings they would like to put on sky islands, or to cover buildings on the board that you never see used. Once that's done, you can use the optional build and unlock rules for the Commons buildings.

It's just an option, it's totally up to you!


+1 to this.

This allows the players to focus more on the mechanics of the game, rather than spending their effort hunting down the few remaining buildings/crates so that they can be added to the board and finally putting the last pieces into place.


Yeah, it seems there would be very little incentive, victory wise, to completing buildings, and only someone wishing to satisfy curiosity more than win would really want to open a crate.

But without opening a crate or adding more buildings, the end game could be quite incomplete, so maybe just doing it out of game is better. But how to do THAT still seems an issue.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.