Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Use element even though I created more of it rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Levin
United States
Cortlandt Manor
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If there is a waning element from a previous turn and my first action creates more of that element, am I now unable to use the element with my second action?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Brennan
Canada
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are able. The elements wane only at the end of the round, not at the end of a turn or action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin S.
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are able to use the waning element. Remember, any elements you create are added at the end of your turn. In your example, first you consume the element that is there, then at the end of your turn take the element your first action created and move it to strong.
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Levin
United States
Cortlandt Manor
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Perfect! Thanks for the speedy replies
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
this is all covered in previous comments, but I like being redundant sometiems.

0) Element X is sitting in Waning (or Strong) status at the beginning of your turn
1) you play your first action, which triggers an imbuement of Element X (but the actual imbuement doesn't occur until the end of your turn)
2) you play your second action, which consumes Element X to generate an effect
3) at the end of your turn, the imbuement from your first action moves Element X to Strong

And if you have unlocked the Gnome Subquest:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
4) Collect Underpants
5) ???
6) Profit!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.