Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Catan: Cities & Knights» Forums » Rules

Subject: 5th Progress Card Drawn on Own Turn rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stefano Assogna
Italy
Rome
flag msg tools
By rule one is to be played (or rather can be played, nonetheless being it foolish not to do so and just discard having the privilege to be the active player). Question arises reading the English version of the rules on progress cards in general, where at a certain point the wording is: "If it's not your turn and you can't play it" (then goes on clearly stating that you get to choose which one to discard). The problem is the "it", suggesting that if it is your turn you have to play that very card that you have just drawn (as 5th progress card). On the Italian version though, if we were to translate it into English, it would rather be: "If it's not your turn and you can't play any". In that case it seems that on your turn you draw the 5th card and choose which one to play. Keeping in mind that being the game German, English and Italian rules are both translated, which is the correct interpretation of the rule? Let's also keep in mind that on another player's turn you are expressly allowed to choose which one of the 5 cards to discard.

Thank you very much for your attention and suggestion ;)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wilbert Kiemeneij
Netherlands
Eindhoven
flag msg tools
I know the rules, but how do you win this game?
badge
1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This was discussed here. You are free to play any of the five cards during your turn. Only if you still hold 5 progress cards at the end of your turn do you have to discard one. At that point you're free to discard any of the progress cards you hold.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jörg Baumgartner
Germany
Kiel
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
WilbertK wrote:
This was discussed here. You are free to play any of the five cards during your turn. Only if you still hold 5 progress cards at the end of your turn do you have to discard one. At that point you're free to discard any of the progress cards you hold.

... down to the number of four.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.