doug mac
Canada
Abbotsford
British Columbia
flag msg tools
6.3.1 Pacification reads:
Quote:
Every two Resources spent removes a Terror marker
or—once no Terror is in a space—shifts the space one level toward
Support, to a maximum of two levels per space. The Government
may not spend more Resources in this Phase than


This wording seems to imply that removing terror would count as a level, or else why would the bolded wording be included?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fred J
Netherlands
Wassenaar
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Removing terror does not count as a level.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Train
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Removing Terror does not count as a level.
This is why the phrase "- once no Terror is in a space -" is there; it's to demarcate removing Terror markers from changing levels of support/oppose.
The phrase "maximum of two levels per space" is bolded to remind people that it is different from a Train-Pacify or Rally-Agitate, which is limited to one level per space.

Brian
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Muldoon (silentdibs)
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is effectively no limit, though, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Train
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No limit on what, how many Terror markers you can have in a space?
Generally, a limit of one.

See 3.3.4 procedure for Terror mission:
You place a Terror marker if one is not there already. This is reinforced by a NOTE at the bottom of the case.
You do not place a Terror marker if all of them are already on the map (there are 12).

There is one case when more than one Terror may end up in a space: Card 28, Atrocities and Reprisals, specifically allows more than one Terror in a space when executing the card.

Aside from this, I think everything else is pretty clear that Terror markers are placed in a space because of a Terror operation or a Neutralize Special Activity, but only one is allowed in a space... so if, say, you had the FLN do Terror in a space (placing a marker and making it Neutral), and then later the Government did two Neutralizes there (which would first shift the space to Oppose, and then normally add a Terror marker) you would still have only one Terror marker, because rule 4.2.3 says to place a Terror only if one is not already there (regardless of how it got there).

Brian
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Muldoon (silentdibs)
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That was not my question, actually. Since there are only three political positions on the scale, a two shift maximum is redundant (more than two shifts is impossible).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Train
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh, you were referring to shifts, not Terror markers, OK.

Yes, more than two shifts is impossible, but the rule is there to remind people, in yet another spot, that two shifts at one time is possible only during Propaganda Rounds, not during the campaign.
Just one more service provided to you by the Department of Redundancy Department.

Brian
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.