Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

It Never Snows» Forums » Rules

Subject: terrain question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
wayne nixon
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
Map A hex 50.06

Terrain in hex includes city, rail and road.would cost to enter this hex be 1 movement point or would it be 1 1/2 movement points

also is the cost of moving down railroad hexes A45.35 TO Arnhem a49.10 1 Movement point per hex

is there ever a situation where different terrain costs in a hex would be added together

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Pratuch
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If moving into 50.06 from: 51.06 pay rail cost (1MP), from 50.05 pay primary road cost (0.5MP). Since city movement is OT, railroad or road applies based on what your unit is moving along.

As rule 1.3a states: use the HIGHEST MP cost when faced with multiple terrain types in the same hex. The exception is when the unit is traveling along a road (3.2b of the series rules) or railroad (1.3a of the game rules states that railroads negate OT cost).

There are games where (for example) when crossing a hexside that is a canal or stream or... you add the hexside cost to the hex cost. The SCS system mentions this in rule 3.2c and gives an example (stream). It also states that the TEC behavior of terrain is dictated by the game specific TEC. INS has such hexside terrain effects for movement across rivers (+2). But again, bridges (road/railroad) negate that cost.

Trust this helps.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.