Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Free Trigger while discarding a card because of damage? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
- -
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Scenario 1 (two players; Roland and Wendy)

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Roland was engaged with the Ghoul Priest in the cellar, because the Ghoul Priest moved to us into the cellar after his appearance.
Roland was also accompanied by an Ally (Beat Cop). As the Ghoul Priest attacked Roland, the Ally came into play to rescue Roland and take the damage. Otherwise Roland would have become insane, because he already had taken 4 horror.

My question is now: As the Cop has written as a free Trigger: Discard Beat Cop: Deal 1 damage to an enemy at your location.
Is this mechanism also triggered, when the Beat Cop is killed by an enemy?

Another question: When an investigator is engaged with a monster and an other investigator is engaging this monster to prevent to deal damage to investigator 1 by fighting the monster…..is the monster still engaged with investigator 1?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Jackson
United States
Mather
California
flag msg tools
OK, one time Randy Beaman had to take baths with his brother. So one time his little brother took a potty in the bathtub .....and now Randy Beaman gets to take showers alone. 'K, bye.
badge
One time, OK, see, one time Randy Beaman's little brother ate Pop Rocks and drank a soda at the same time and his head exploded! 'K, bye.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Answer 1 - No. You must activate the Beat Cop's ability during an available free action window in order to discard him and deliver 1 damage. The Beat Cop dying does not activate his ability.

Answer 2 - Assuming Gator1 is engaged with Baddie1. Gator 2 has two options. Option 1 - Attack Baddie1. If successful, damage applied to Baddie1. If unsuccessful, damage applied to Gator1. Ouch! This option may be repeated until Baddie1 or Gator1 is defeated. Option 2 - Gator2 may take the Engage action moving Baddie1 from Gator1's threat area to Gator2's threat area. Now if Gator2 misses, Gator1 won't be hurt and if Baddie1 lives long enough to attack, he will attack Gator2.

Hope that helps. Enjoy!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loki Mackay
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Q1 - No, I think once the Beat Cop has taken fatal damage it's too late. There is no window to act between assigning the damage and discarding Beat Cop.

Q2 - Unless the enemy is 'massive' I think engaging it with a new character disengages the first investigator.

(Just a bit too slow typing!!)
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yury M
Russia
Moscow
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fighting the monster does NOT engage him.
In order to engage the enemy from another investigator you should perform the respective action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James J
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't know if it's just because you wrote it in a more story-telling way, but in order for beat cop to take the damage, it needed to be in play before the monster attacked. And more than that, if you play beat cop while engaged with the monster you take an attack of opportunity.

Only clarifying those points because the way you wrote it suggests you might not have known that.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
- -
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks a lot to all of you! Your answers were very helpful!
And yes, Beat Cop was already in play, so he could take the damage.
Thanks again!! meeple
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon H
United States
Orion Township
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One thing about your scenario that has nothing to do with your question:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Did you move into the cellar after the Ghoul Priest spawned? Any investigator spending clues has to be in the hallway when they do that, and moving into the cellar after that would be an unusual (not totally unlikely) move. Maybe Wendy had all the clues while Roland was down there, but that also seems unlikely.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pauli Vinni
Finland
Espoo
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
yury1975 wrote:
Fighting the monster does NOT engage him.
In order to engage the enemy from another investigator you should perform the respective action.


A actually attaking the enemy does engage it, unless it is huge and already engages or if it aloof.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Shudde M'ell
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hannibal_pjv wrote:
yury1975 wrote:
Fighting the monster does NOT engage him.
In order to engage the enemy from another investigator you should perform the respective action.


A actually attaking the enemy does engage it, unless it is huge and already engages or if it aloof.


No, if it's aloof you first have to Engage it (usually by the Engage Action), and if it's Massive it's already Engaged with you,

Fighting an Unengaged Enemy or an Enemy Engaged with someone else does nothing to that Enemy's Engagement status. Attacking an Enemy Engaged with someone else is a risk, though, since a Miss does damage to your ally.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.