Giorgos Georgiadis
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
What happens when a dictator and the Master of Horse both survive a war and they have to assign the influence, popularity and veteran legions.

Do they both take it in full or split it in half for each.

For example:
They won a war with 10 fleet strength and 10 military strength. They both survive from the drawn mortality chits so now we are left to assign the pop, infl and veterans to them.
Which results in:
10/2=5 influence
10/2=5 popularity and
1 (or 2?) veteran legion for both commanders.

Do they both take 10 influence/popularity each and also 1 veteran legion each? Or 5 each and 1 veteran for the dictator only?

Thnx in advance!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve
United Kingdom
Farnham
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mb
Everything goes to the Dictator. The Master of Horse is just there to assist the Dictator and doesn't really have any command contribution.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Giorgos Georgiadis
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
That seemed the most reasonable to us also, so I just needed the confirmation! :-)

Thanx a lot Steve!

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hugues Lamy
Canada
La Prairie
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the rule book 1.04.
Quote:
1.09.34 MASTER OF HORSE: Whenever the Dictator commands
a Force, he is accompanied by his Master of Horse. The Dictator’s
Military rating for any combat is the sum of his Military rating and
that of his Master of Horse. The Master of Horse must accompany
the Dictator to War and cannot act independently of the Dictator,
unless the Dictator dies in combat or if the Dictator Revolts (1.11.3),
he remains loyal to the Dictator. If victorious in a War, the Dictator
receives the usual increase in his Influence and Popularity (1.10.4),
while the Master of Horse gets nothing. If the Dictator is defeated,
the Master of Horse is killed along with him. The Master of Horse can
also be killed by a Mortality Chit draw during a battle result (1.10.7).
The Master of Horse also adds to the Commander’s Military rating in
a Naval Battle (reflecting the greater efficiency of a unified command),
but cannot be used to nullify a Disaster or Standoff result in any battle
(1.10.21, 1.10.31).


So the master of horses role sucks. You get nothing if you win, and risk the chance of death the same thing as a normal military commander, worst even.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sheldon Morris
Canada
Fergus
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, there is the 3 influence. That counts for something... right?

It's the only reason to tag along, barring other negotiable and survival stakes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.