Mahjong» Forums » General

Subject: Disadvantages of mahjong - what you do not like in the game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Petyr E
Russia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There is no perfect game, and each game has its pro's and con's. Can you share what you do not like in mahjong "in total" and in specific variants?

Here are my 2 cents (after 3 tournaments in MCR and 1 in RCR and plenty of "just games" as training before tournaments and for pleasure).

A. For the game itself:
- too heavy set: a decent plastic set of tiles weighs no less than 3 kg (7-8 lb), it's not something you can put in your casual bag;
- weird symbols: not for me (I studied Chinese at school), but for other people, at least the Craks suit could be more comprehensible, and Winds could be of different colors to tell one from another easily; counterclockwise turns and clockwise wall disassembling; everything that can be called a "high threshold" - definitely higher than for Go and card games (for Western-cultured people);
- many tiles in hand: you need to hold them somewhere in a safe place, and the bigger the tiles the harder to conceal them;
- much noise when you mix tiles on a table, not just your table, but neighbors as well, and some people cannot speak loudly "chow" or "pung", so sometimes they just don't even bother;
- not many games with the same tile set: only mahjong (all versions that are similar by the game process) and 2 solitaires; not like card games when you can play many different games with one deck;
- no basic variant common for all beginners: some play Hongkong version, some play Chinese Classical (brought by Babcock to USA), some - Sichuan; I cannot call Riichi a basic version;
- there is no perfect mahjong - some like MCR, others like Riichi more, or Zung Jung;
- it's not easy to gather 4 people for a live play, and (paradox) in a big city it may be even harder than in a small one.

B. For MCR: