Simon Barnes
United Kingdom
Leigh
Lancs
flag msg tools
1) In our first play last night my son threatened to target me with the system ability that drains 6 energy unless I paid him 2 MC's. Can MC's be transferred between players? Same goes for DP's? Presumably energy can't be transferred between players as it is owned by individual fleets so it requires a specific card/ability? We played MC's as transferable it seemed to be in the spirit of the game.

2) Plating has the -1 against attack rolls ability. If you bought two for a ship with two upgrade slots can they stack? I had the ship (Gorgon) which has this ability and I equipped it with plating. In this case do attack rolls only hit on 6's? We played it that way and I noticed Gorgon has only 1 upgrade slot and there are only two plating upgrades available anyway so if they do stack it's impossible to totally avoid being hit by escort ships (best you can achieve this way is be hit on 6's).

3) Can interceptors block mines? The mines card does not mention the word "attack" so I figured it can't be blocked. If it can be blocked does it require 1 interceptor or up to 3?

4)If for some reason you wanted to block missile battery does it require 2 interceptors or 1? The card specifies it being 2 separate attacks. If it requires 2 can you block one attack with 1 interceptor and leave the other attack?

5) Valiant has 10 attack dice and 1 upgrade slot. If it is equipped with rocket ramp can it split it's attack thusly:
a) 5 dice against 1 target, 5 against another, rocket ramp against 3rd.
b) 10 dice against 1 target, rocket ramp against other.
c) No splitting.. all 10 dice plus ramp against 1 target.

In option c's case can 1 interceptor block the whole attack or does it require two (one for valiant, one for the upgrade).

Either way I presume those attacks come in phase 3 (valiant's initiative). Although Valiant could fire torpedoes in phase 1 if I have the card (and my opponent doesn't have those pesky interceptors)?


Great game BTW.. my family has asked to play again tonight..2 nights on the trot...that's a rare event in our household.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Fryxelius
Sweden
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
simon_j_barnes wrote:
1) In our first play last night my son threatened to target me with the system ability that drains 6 energy unless I paid him 2 MC's. Can MC's be transferred between players? Same goes for DP's? Presumably energy can't be transferred between players as it is owned by individual fleets so it requires a specific card/ability? We played MC's as transferable it seemed to be in the spirit of the game.

2) Plating has the -1 against attack rolls ability. If you bought two for a ship with two upgrade slots can they stack? I had the ship (Gorgon) which has this ability and I equipped it with plating. In this case do attack rolls only hit on 6's? We played it that way and I noticed Gorgon has only 1 upgrade slot and there are only two plating upgrades available anyway so if they do stack it's impossible to totally avoid being hit by escort ships (best you can achieve this way is be hit on 6's).

3) Can interceptors block mines? The mines card does not mention the word "attack" so I figured it can't be blocked. If it can be blocked does it require 1 interceptor or up to 3?

4)If for some reason you wanted to block missile battery does it require 2 interceptors or 1? The card specifies it being 2 separate attacks. If it requires 2 can you block one attack with 1 interceptor and leave the other attack?

5) Valiant has 10 attack dice and 1 upgrade slot. If it is equipped with rocket ramp can it split it's attack thusly:
a) 5 dice against 1 target, 5 against another, rocket ramp against 3rd.
b) 10 dice against 1 target, rocket ramp against other.
c) No splitting.. all 10 dice plus ramp against 1 target.

In option c's case can 1 interceptor block the whole attack or does it require two (one for valiant, one for the upgrade).

Either way I presume those attacks come in phase 3 (valiant's initiative). Although Valiant could fire torpedoes in phase 1 if I have the card (and my opponent doesn't have those pesky interceptors)?


Great game BTW.. my family has asked to play again tonight..2 nights on the trot...that's a rare event in our household.


1) You can't send resources. Negotiations can be made though on how you'd act, just like in every game. If you could send resources, MC would be the only one to be allowed thematically.

2) Effects do stack,and Gorgon can be pretty difficult to hit. But remember that it only protects your flagship, not the escorts.

3-4) One Interceptor blocks one attack, so * it can not block Mines (no attack), * it can block a whole attack from one ship, * it can block one of the separate missile attacks from a Battleship or Missile Battery etc. Remember though that each attack is targeted and resolved separately.

5) Each ship's attack is one, separate attack, so you can't split it into different targets, unless specifically stated. the ship rolls all its dies in that attck. One flagship has the ability to attack twice, which gets really good with the ugrade that increases attack strength... Some ships have special actions that ativates when the ship attacks (directly before or after).
However, the upgrade cards are not usually tied to the flagship attack, and so they can be used in any initiative stage (for example in stage 1). So in your case the correct answer would be 'b', with the clarification that the Rocket Ramp can be used in any initiative stage. They are two separate attacks, so it would require 2 interceptors to block them both.

Glad you like the game!
Cheers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Barnes
United Kingdom
Leigh
Lancs
flag msg tools
Ok thanks Jacob. We played them all correct it seems except 5, which we played as C) but requiring 2 interceptors (2 separate attacks) and both attacks in the same phase. So we'll make that change from now on. Thanks for clarifying.

Although I think we'll stick to MC's being transferable, I think it adds a thematic negotiating tactic.

It's actually being played tonight again (for a 3rd night running) which is totally unprecedented in this household.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Barnes
United Kingdom
Leigh
Lancs
flag msg tools
Jacob,

In one rules thread you said:

"If you have no space for the ship, you cannot get it. This is true also for Ezreel and Hangar - cannot get fighters if you have no space left for them. This is also true for upgrade cards."

In another Jonathan said:

"Other things: Remember, you can buy upgrades without actually placing them on a fleet yet. Once they are installed, they cannot be moved to other fleets."

They seem to conflict, which one is true?

*Edit

Also New Babylon and Scout ability: Are these "Diplomatic actions" that are used in the diplomacy phase?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Fryxelius
Sweden
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Jonathan is right I believe. So you could buy upgrades for later use.

If an action has a diplomatic cost icon, then it can only be used in the diplomacy phase. Battle abilities should always have an energy cost icon (even if it may be zero).

Cheers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alwin Derijck
Netherlands
Utrecht
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you quote the exact rules in the rulebook that clarify this?

From reading the rules I was under the impression I can only buy upgrades if I am able to place them.

From what you are saying, I can also buy upgrade cards and store them just so my opponents cannot buy the card (like a hate draft).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Fryxelius
Sweden
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Alwin wrote:
Can you quote the exact rules in the rulebook that clarify this?

From reading the rules I was under the impression I can only buy upgrades if I am able to place them.

From what you are saying, I can also buy upgrade cards and store them just so my opponents cannot buy the card (like a hate draft).


In the rulebook, page 8, under the section 1) Buy fleets and upgrades, you can read the following:

Rulebook, page 9 wrote:
For upgrade cards, pay the cost (in the yellow box) for the upgrade and place it beside your player board.


Notice that the card is bought and placed beside your player board, not immediately into a fleet. It is in the next section, 2) Equip fleets, that you actually place the upgrades on the fleets:

Rulebook, page 8 wrote:

All players may then equip their fleets simultaneously (secretly
if they wish). Each fleet has a flagship but also spaces where
you can place escort ships and upgrades.

[...]

Upgrades and escort ships may be placed and
rearranged within a fleet during the building phase,
but they may never be moved to other fleets. Once they
are built they belong to that fleet.


So yes, you can "hate draft" the upgrades.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alwin Derijck
Netherlands
Utrecht
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes from reading the rules I understood that you buy the card and equip later.

But I assumed you had to install the card in the "equip fleets" step. So mandatory instead of optional.

In theory you can buy a whole bunch of cards and just leave them next to your player board till the end of the game. Not a very economical thing to do obviously, but it is allowed.

Thanks for your reply.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.