Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Star Saga» Forums » Rules

Subject: Reinforcement troops. Is the Tutorial example wrong ? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Carlos D
Taiwan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey there, I played Mission A 4 times already. 2 solo. One playing as Nexus and another one as the hero.
I have a question on Reinforcement Troops, as I think that we might have got it wrong.
We played following the example on page 18 in the rulebook to handle the reinforcements. That is, when doing the Reinforcement step in the nexus turn put the selected minion (Guard) off the board and next to the Reinforcement Point. That raised the question when can the minion be moved on the board ? During the next Nexus Make activations phase ? That's how we played it, but it seemed weird and disadvantageous for Nexus. Furthermore, reading page 15 seem to imply that the reinforcements are placed waiting beforehand and when using the Reinforcement Points they come on the board. Can someone provide clarification on how to properly handle Reinforcement Troops ? And can you point me to the the text in the rulebook ?
So excited for this game. I want to play it properly !
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Tresman
United Kingdom
Christchurch
Dorset
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb




Place reinforcements at active (in revealed "rooms") reinforcement points, on the next nexus activation they will enter (see priority 2 below) and if blocked see priority 3.

Rules

"Reinforcements are placed off of the board, next to any Reinforcement Point counter. These minions are waiting. Waiting minions may move onto the board via the Reinforcement Points in subsequent turns. Until they are on the board, these minions may not make any Actions."


"All reinforcements are placed in wait at the closest active, empty Reinforcement Point to the Target Mercenary."

"Minions will always move off of Reinforcement Points if possible."

Minions will act according to the Minion Activation Table on the next page, resolving the first option from the list that they are eligible to complete, with the following exceptions:



- If a minion moves into the front arc of a Mercenary at any point, the minion will stop and make a close assault Action against it.

- Minions will always move off of Reinforcement Points if possible.

- If a minion is in a position where it is preventing another minion from seeing or reaching a Mercenary, it will move until it is no longer blocking the way, if possible.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlos D
Taiwan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Jerry,

So, we played that right. One further question then. On a subsequent Nexus turn, can that Reinforcement minion (waiting by the Reinforcement Point) come on to the board during his activation while moving up to his move points and then attack ?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Tresman
United Kingdom
Christchurch
Dorset
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
cadblur wrote:
Thanks Jerry,

So, we played that right. One further question then. On a subsequent Nexus turn, can that Reinforcement minion (waiting by the Reinforcement Point) come on to the board during his activation while moving up to his move points and then attack ?

Thanks!



The first minion to act will be the one closest to the Target Mercenary (see Choosing Targets on page 17), chosen using the card drawn in step 1. The second minion will be the one furthest away from the Target Mercenary ....and repeat.

Providing it falls into Nearest / Farthest and their are enough nexus activations then I would say yes by priority 2 and 3 unless blocked due to priority 1 or other circumstances.

Always consider a reinforcement point, with waiting minions, for nearest/farthest determination. Ties broken by the priorities and then best for Nexus.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Harper
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
I have dropped the last one (for solo play):

"- If a minion is in a position where it is preventing another minion from seeing or reaching a Mercenary, it will move until it is no longer blocking the way, if possible."

And replaced it with:

"AI controlled Minions can move through other friendly minions".

Benefits:

1) Keeps me from having to make tactical decisions for the AI
2) Plays faster as I just now have to grab and move them
3) Keeps pressure on by pushing mobs forward
4) Increases difficulty by letting melee Minions through to tie up your heroes
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric LAURENT
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules

"Reinforcements are placed off of the board, next to any Reinforcement Point counter. These minions are waiting. Waiting minions may move onto the board via the Reinforcement Points in subsequent turns. Until they are on the board, these minions may not make any Actions."

Are you sure they get onto the board at the next Nexus activation phase ???? It's not writtent in the rules ?

Do you place the waiting minions on the green Arrow (reinforcement counter) ?

Do you need to spend an activation to get one minion (or more) on the board which means that other minions already on the board will lose their activation ?

Thanks for a clarification.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad P
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
moavoamoatu wrote:
Rules

"Reinforcements are placed off of the board, next to any Reinforcement Point counter. These minions are waiting. Waiting minions may move onto the board via the Reinforcement Points in subsequent turns. Until they are on the board, these minions may not make any Actions."

Are you sure they get onto the board at the next Nexus activation phase ???? It's not writtent in the rules ?

Do you place the waiting minions on the green Arrow (reinforcement counter) ?

Do you need to spend an activation to get one minion (or more) on the board which means that other minions already on the board will lose their activation ?

Thanks for a clarification.


Reinforcements are placed off the board next to a reinforcement point. They are not on the board or considered in play in any way.

You have to spend activations to move minions onto the board. They are available for use either by discarding a card for bonus activation on the turn they or placed waiting or with normal activations in the next turn.

The square with the arrow counts as their first square of movement for the movement part of their activation. After finishing their move they can then take an action as normal.

Remember that the number of activations is not related to the number of minions. It is determined by the mission plus any cards active on the board (like event cards). So often you will have either more or often less activations for minions than minions which can be activated.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric LAURENT
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks a lot that's really clear and that's how we played it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.