M Hardt

Canaan
New Hampshire
msg tools
The containment specialist's dice include a three-arrow side that enables the containment specialist to move three disease dice from the treatment center to the infection bag. When a disease is cured, is the containment specialist able to move all the cured disease dice as if he were moving just one?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will M
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Check out the Board Game Beacon Blog: Click here then click on "Blogs" in the menu bar
badge
Follow me on Twitter: @BoardGameBeacon
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Grushenkaman wrote:
The containment specialist's dice include a three-arrow side that enables the containment specialist to move three disease dice from the treatment center to the infection bag. When a disease is cured, is the containment specialist able to move all the cured disease dice as if he were moving just one?

The ability says “up to 3 dice”, so he cannot move multiple cured infection dice for one action. Another key thing to remember is this ability does not count as "treating" the disease and so pays no regard to cured diseases.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Eldard
United States
Burke
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
argentetbury wrote:
Grushenkaman wrote:
The containment specialist's dice include a three-arrow side that enables the containment specialist to move three disease dice from the treatment center to the infection bag. When a disease is cured, is the containment specialist able to move all the cured disease dice as if he were moving just one?

The ability says “up to 3 dice”, so he cannot move multiple cured infection dice for one action. Another key thing to remember is this ability does not count as "treating" the disease and so pays no regard to cured diseases.

I disagree with Will's interpretation of the rule, but I'm not an authority, so I'd like to see what others say.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Denman
United States
Katy
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
argentetbury wrote:
Another key thing to remember is this ability does not count as "treating" the disease and so pays no regard to cured diseases.


I agree with Will.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will M
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Check out the Board Game Beacon Blog: Click here then click on "Blogs" in the menu bar
badge
Follow me on Twitter: @BoardGameBeacon
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Eldard wrote:
argentetbury wrote:
Grushenkaman wrote:
The containment specialist's dice include a three-arrow side that enables the containment specialist to move three disease dice from the treatment center to the infection bag. When a disease is cured, is the containment specialist able to move all the cured disease dice as if he were moving just one?

The ability says “up to 3 dice”, so he cannot move multiple cured infection dice for one action. Another key thing to remember is this ability does not count as "treating" the disease and so pays no regard to cured diseases.

I disagree with Will's interpretation of the rule, but I'm not an authority, so I'd like to see what others say.

I was sure I was right so I contacted the game's creator, Matt Leacock, and he confirmed it.

Please see the original Tweet exchange here, or read below:

Twitter wrote:
Board Game Beacon wrote:
Hey @mattleacock, please settle a #BGG debate about #PandemicTheCure: When a disease is cured, is the Containment Specialist able to use his 3-arrow side to move all the cured disease dice as if he were moving just one?
I’d say no as the ability says “up to 3 dice”, not “treat”.

Matt Leacock wrote:
No, he cannot. He’s moving them, not Treating them.


Another thing that further strengthens this is at the bottom of page 4 in the rulebook, under the heading “Other Actions”, it has a picture of the triple arrow icon and says “Some roles have special actions on some die sides. The rules for these special actions are on their Role cards.” This means it has to be considered differently to the treat action.

This must also be the case with the event card “Healthy Population”, which says “Move up to 4 dice (of any colors) from the Treatment Center to the Infection bag”. It worded almost identically to the Containment Specialist’s ability (although it's 4 dice in this instance) and should be used in the same way. (i.e. 4 dice to be moved only).
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.