Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

South China Sea» Forums » Rules

Subject: Submarine Combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stuart Tonge
United Kingdom
Rotherham
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb


Hi, this is the picture from todays game.

Virginia has moved to setup a Harpoon shot against the Chinese Luyang DDG. The movement phase is now over.

The combat phase starts and the Chinese player focuses Virginia's hex (she's in range of a Chinese CV with an ASW weapon range of 4).

The US player can evade, but if he does cannot make the Harpoon attack.
Or he can choose not to evade, in which case the Chinese carrier will attack with an underwater value of 2, requiring a 6 to cause a step loss and a 7 or above to cause two step losses.


Is the above correct?

Is there anything we missed? Does, for example, the Chinese player need to detect the submarine or is the absence of evasion considered to be a detection in itself?

Does the range from the Chinese carrier have any bearing on the attack roll (we don't think so)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Gorkowski
msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
There are a few fine points to observe here.

To be clear, you've started the Air and Sea Combat Phase (6.4).

PRC goes first (default order) and declares a focus on the Virginia SSN.

The Virginia could chose to evade. If successfull, the Virginia cannot be targeted nor can it target anyone else for the remainder of this phase. So yes, no harpoon attack.

If Virginia declines to evade, then she can fire her AS missiles. Per 6.45, AS strikes occur 3rd (after T strikes) and before U (anti-sub) strikes. So, the Virginia would get to fire FIRST even though the PRC declared this engagement. Therefore, the Virginia could inflict up to three hits (5.57) on a PRC unit before the PRC could fire back. In theory, the Virginia could sink the Chinese carrier before it could even try to attack the Virginia. If the PRC carrier survives then it can fire its U score with the numbers you describe, but possibly a -1 modifier for having suffered a step loss.

Detection is automatic UNLESS one choses to evade. The range will enhance the likelihood of the sub evading, but has no bearing on strike dice rolls in this case. Separately, note that air units do suffer a penalty when striking beyond one half their combat radius.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stuart Tonge
United Kingdom
Rotherham
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Hi John, thanks for the answer. I'm comfortable we were playing correctly.

Presumably the 4 hex range (5 on US CVN) is representation of ASW helos/maritime patrol air ?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Gorkowski
msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
stuuk wrote:
Hi John, thanks for the answer. I'm comfortable we were playing correctly.

Presumably the 4 hex range (5 on US CVN) is representation of ASW helos/maritime patrol air ?


Correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.