Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Forbidden Stars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Forbidden stars Fury of the Utra marine card clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
X Y
msg tools
the second part of the card says force your opponent to lose either 1 shield dice or 2 soft/card shields. Questions, if you choose, lose the 2 soft/card shields is that only for one round or for all three rounds of battle
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jake Staines
United Kingdom
Grantham
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
swilso16 wrote:
soft/card shields


"Soft/card shields"? It just means the little shield tokens as opposed to shields displayed on dice or on cards.


The tokens are always discarded at the end of each of the three rounds of combat. What this card allows you to do is either remove a die that has rolled a shield (which would be a permanent removal for the whole combat) or remove two shield tokens (which would only last for this round because the tokens themselves would only last for this round anyway).


Neither option allows you to remove further tokens or dice on a future turn - but if you remove the die then the die is removed for the whole combat, and if you choose the tokens then you get twice the benefit this round, but no lasting benefit into next round. That's the trade-off you're making.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ivan Kulic
msg tools
Hi
Just to clarify, who chooses what to remove?The opponent or the Marines?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Genestealer Patriarch
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Akol wrote:
Hi
Just to clarify, who chooses what to remove?The opponent or the Marines?

If it isn't explicit, the owner of the card always gets to make all decisions.

In the case of Fury of the Ultramar, the marine player tells his opponent "remove one shield die" or "remove 2 shield tokens". The opponent doesn't get to choose which "option", the marine player does.

Contrast this with the Marine card "Break the Line", where the opponent gets to choose which card he must throw away.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.