Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Initiative order rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tobias
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
If bosses and elite monsters have same initiative value, who acts first?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Bell
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
pg 18: If monsters of two different types have the same initiative, players choose which go first.


The elite distinction only matters for monsters of the same type. If there's 1 normal guard and 1 elite archer and they both have the same initiative, players still choose which type goes first, they don't have to choose the archer just because that type happens to only contain an elite.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Bruns
United States
Naperville
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 18.

If there is ever a tie in initiative between players, consult the non-leading card of each player to break the tie.
(If there is still a tie, players should decide among themselves who goes first.) If there is a tie between a player
and a monster type, the player goes first. If there is a tie between two monster types, the players decide which
goes first.

Note that a Boss is a monster type so you decide which would go first.

Within type, all elites go first in numerical order, then normals in numerical order.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobias
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
Thanks. It was a mid-game question. Since nobody answered soon enough, we then searched the rules and found it. We assumed it was "players decide" even before but didn't want to make it too easy for us.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joakim Schön
Sweden
Alingsås
Sverige
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tal342 wrote:
If there is a tie between a player
and a monster type, the player goes first.


Great, both one of my characters and the boss and the archer had 14. Glad the character would go first.

(And with a +2 attack modifier card the boss was killed)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.