Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Labyrinth: The War on Terror, 2001 – ?» Forums » Rules

Subject: Alignment and Governance rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andy Pelton
United Kingdom
Hucknall
Nottinghamshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

I must admit I've tried this game a couple of times and I have gotten some rules wrong, I don't know what it is about the game I fail to get my head around, however the question I have presently is relating to governance and alignment.

So,

A War of Ideas shifts target country from Neutral to Ally, then starts to improve the Governance.

US cards like Sistani, will never change the alignment status, but can change say a Fair to Good governance? So both of these are true.

1) Poor Adversary - can be changed to Fair - Adversary.
2) Good Neutral - Nothing would happen.


Worsening the Governance,

A Minor Jihad - If a country is at Ally, Good will a minor Jihad with three successes change it to Neutral Poor? or will it still be Ally Poor (The 3rd Success is wasted)?

A Major Jihad that starts with Ally Good, can this change to Islamist Rule with 2 Successes (or does it need to be 4 sucesses, i.e would need a minor Jihad 1st?)

If it is Fair Good, And Major Jihad gets 3 successes, will this slip straight to Islamist Rule?

Cards like Kurdistan, do these change Alignment so a Poor Ally goes to neutral? Or does it just sit at Poor Ally?

I think that is it for the moment.
Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Plant
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
A Minor Jihad - If a country is at Ally, Good will a minor Jihad with three successes change it to Neutral Poor? or will it still be Ally Poor (The 3rd Success is wasted)?


The most a minor jihad can do is worsen govt to poor. So in your example, yes ; one of successes is wasted on a three ops card. Alignment is not altered with minor jihad.

Quote:
If it is Fair Good, And Major Jihad gets 3 successes, will this slip straight to Islamist Rule?


A good country, regardless of alignment could be converted to Islamic rule if there was a besieged regemer marker (from a previously failed major jihad or event) on a three ops card rolling 1 - 1 -1.
1 from good to fair
1 from fair to poor.
1 more "success" (besieged regime) for Islamic rule.
Otherwise without the besieged regime it would be impossible.

A fair country would need three successes as well unless a besieged regime marker is present. Only this time a roll of one or two is the target roll here.

One success to go from fair to poor, then two more successful rolls to go to Islamic rule.
If a besieged regime marker was present in the fair country, Only two Successful rolls are required: 1 to go to poor the one more success to Islamic rule.

A country's alignment can be altered by a failed major jihad when three dice are rolled.
Alignment really just affects what the us can do in countries like war of ideas and deployments.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Pelton
United Kingdom
Hucknall
Nottinghamshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, that helps though this question was not answered

Cards like Kurdistan, do these change Alignment so a Poor Ally goes to neutral? Or does it just sit at Poor Ally?

I think it stays as Poor Ally, correct?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
E V
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Governance and Alignment change independently (with the exception of Islamist Rule). If a rule or a card says it affects Governance, don’t touch Alignment; if a rule or a card says if affects Alignment, don’t touch Governance.

Card #107 explicitly tells the Jihadist player to worsen Governance and so you don’t touch Alignment.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Plant
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
peltazoid wrote:
Thanks, that helps though this question was not answered

Cards like Kurdistan, do these change Alignment so a Poor Ally goes to neutral? Or does it just sit at Poor Ally?

I think it stays as Poor Ally, correct?

Thanks.


Sorry. Was in bed and didn't have the game in front of me. :o
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Pelton
United Kingdom
Hucknall
Nottinghamshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
@evacbs. Thanks that does make sense.

@JEPlant. Thanks for your reply, no worries your clarifications for all the other points have helped.

:-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.