Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Thing: Infection at Outpost 31» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sabotage after swapping rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ken Newell
Canada
Prince George
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you swap a card as captain, and you get a sabotage, does it then have to be played immediately or is it discarded and a new card swapped because the sabotage phase has ended?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jared Bronson
United States
Riverton
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LFITQ wrote:
If you swap a card as captain, and you get a sabotage, does it then have to be played immediately or is it discarded and a new card swapped because the sabotage phase has ended?


It has to be immediately resolved or the investigation fails.

Rulebook page 12:

8. REVEAL SUPPLY CARDS
The Captain reveals as many cards from the pool as instructed by the Mission Log card directive. If less than the full pool is to be revealed, the Captain flips over one card at a time, stopping once the directive has been fulfilled or the requisite number of cards have been revealed.

If a Sabotage card is revealed, (added after the Captain swapped a Supply card) it must be resolved immediately or the investigation fails.

When directed to roll, the Dice Value of the pool is totaled. The Captain rolls those dice (to a maximum of 6) then compares the result to the requirement on the Mission Log.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thor A
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We play that the swapped card gets mixed back together with the pool and then cards are revealed as per the mission log. If it is "reveal one at a time" or "reveal x number of cards" and the sabotage card doesn't show up, then you effectively get to ignore it.

However, if it's a "reveal all cards" and the new swapped card was a sabotage, then to pass the mission (assuming the card requirements are met) you will need to deal with the sabotage card at that time.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.