Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Red7» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about most in a row rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Pereira
Portugal
Porto
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This question came in our last game and it was the last play to win

If no player has more than one single card in the canvas is it legal to the player with the higher card to change the rule to most in a row and become the winner or is it only legal if you can at least make a row of 2 cards to change to this rule?

We played as a not legal move because we thought we must have at least 2 cards in a row to qualify to that rule
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donny Behne
United States
Fate
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
www.punchboardmedia.com/geaux-gaming/
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1 card is in a row, nothing specifies the number of cards. As long as the person doing so is winning, by having the highest ranked card, it is a legal play.
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Pereira
Portugal
Porto
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But the rules say that a row it’s a number of cards (plural) so is one single card a row if no other player owns at least two cards in a row?

I do understand the two point of views but it does not seem to be so straightforward
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
james howlett
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For what it's worth, it works the way Donny says in the app
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Pereira
Portugal
Porto
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
crazybirdman wrote:
For what it's worth, it works the way Donny says in the app


Thanks for your replies
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Schumann
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You must have at least one card that follows any rule.

This means you cannot be winning if you play "Most cards below 4" and have none, or if you play "Most even cards" and have none. There is no other restriction. If you have one card, you have one in a row.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter S.
United States
Sacramento
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Remember, if tied on number of cards meeting the criteria, tie is broken based on the value of the card itself (number and color). So, yes, it's possible to be winning with a "straight" of one card, if no one else has a longer straight and your card outvalues everyone else's cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David "Davy" Ashleydale
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
davidallves wrote:
But the rules say that a row it’s a number of cards (plural) so is one single card a row if no other player owns at least two cards in a row?

I do understand the two point of views but it does not seem to be so straightforward


On page 4 of the rule book it says, "If you have no cards (for Green or Violet) that follow the rule, you are not winning," which implies that Green and Violet are the only rules where it is possible to not be able to meet the rule. It is always possible to follow the Indigo rule of "Cards that form a run," even if you only have one card. It's not much of a "run" -- it's a run of 1 -- but it still counts. Otherwise they would have included Indigo in the rule above.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.