Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Few questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ess Why
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Apologies if these have already been answered

1)If you had played Brute's retaliate card and then you negate damage by discarding a card, do you still retaliate?

2)Does retaliate bypass shield?

Thanks

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Ferejohn
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
badge
Pitying fools as hard as I can...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes to both. Shield only works against attacks (e.g. when a card is drawn) so any other ways of losing life (such as retaliate) ignore it.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Wonham
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From page 26 of the rulebook:

"A “Retaliate X” bonus ability causes the recipient to inflict X points of damage on figures who attack it from an adjacent hex for each attack made. A retaliate bonus can also be accompanied by a “Range Y” value, which means that the retaliate damage is applied to any attacker within Y hexes. A retaliate takes effect after the attack that initiated it. If the retaliating figure is killed or exhausted by the attack, then the retaliate does not activate. Multiple retaliate bonuses stack with one another, and retaliate itself is not an attack or even a targeted effect."

So retaliate has NO relevancy to damage caused to you, whether a x2, Null, or discard-to-negate-damage. UNLESS your discard of a card caused you to become exhausted, which it can't because that's only calculated at the beginning of a round NOT in the enemies turn.

A) So my answer to A would be: Yes, retaliate happens after you're attacked, irrespective of what damage is actually caused or why.

B) Completely agree. Retaliate ignores all defences such as shield. So Retaliate 2 against an enemy with shield 1 would result in 2 damage.

Note that POISON does not apply to retaliate as poison only adds +1 to ATTACKS (not traps or retaliate).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.