Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Fourth Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Nekro Virus Flagship.. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Simon Kwong
msg tools
...do the infantry forces count towards fleet size? They are treated "as ships" but not sure if they are under the same restrictions, also I guess would the Yin ability mean they could be sacrificed or not?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sander Stroom
Estonia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Fleet size does not matter in combat. The flagship ability is for combat.
I was mistaken as seen below.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clayton Threadgill
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sande24 wrote:
Fleet size does not matter in combat. The flagship ability is for combat.

Fleet size always matters, even during combat. It's capacity that you can ignore during a battle.

Nekro's infantry do not count against your fleet supply. The flagship doesn't say the units are "treated as ships", it says they may "participate in the space combat as if they were ships".

They are not treated as ships for any purpose other than participating in the combat, so they can make a combat roll and be assigned hits, but that's all. Any action cards that specifically affect "ships" do not affect them.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Naz
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
hooliganj wrote:
Sande24 wrote:
Fleet size does not matter in combat. The flagship ability is for combat.

Fleet size always matters, even during combat. It's capacity that you can ignore during a battle.

Nekro's infantry do not count against your fleet supply. The flagship doesn't say the units are "treated as ships", it says they may "participate in the space combat as if they were ships".

They are not treated as ships for any purpose other than participating in the combat, so they can make a combat roll and be assigned hits, but that's all. Any action cards that specifically affect "ships" do not affect them.


So what happens when an effect specifies "non-fighter units" mid combat? Like the L1z1x flagship? I have been playing that the GFs could be taken as casualties in that instance... Seemed like the only good counter to the [0.0.1]
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
PK Levine
United States
Rossville
GA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
schnapes wrote:
...do the infantry forces count towards fleet size?


Nope. See errata: https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1902562/verified-errata-k-y...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clayton Threadgill
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GamerdadMich wrote:
So what happens when an effect specifies "non-fighter units" mid combat? Like the L1z1x flagship? I have been playing that the GFs could be taken as casualties in that instance... Seemed like the only good counter to the [0.0.1]

Infantry may not be ships but they are still units, and they are not fighters. Yes, you are playing this correctly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.