Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Michael Strogoff» Forums » Rules

Subject: Not Solving Immediate Dangers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sergio Nieto
Brazil
flag msg tools
Something is not clear to me: if you DO NOT solve an immediate danger using a card with same symbol as the danger, when you get the card, then what happens?

Is the effect shown on the card triggered?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve O'Rourke
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You suffer the penalties on all route cards in front of you when advancing leads to two of the same dangers being on display. The ability to resolve an immediate danger when advancing can be key to avoiding the bad stuff happening.

Example: It's your turn and you take the action of advancing on your route. The new route card comes up and it has two diplomacy dangers on it (the red wax seal). One is in a dark circle at the top left (an immediate danger) and the other is in a light circle on the top right (a normal danger). Right now, there are two of the same dangers displayed on your route and you are at risk for all of the possible bad effects laid out in front of you.

As soon as this happens, you can cover the immediate diplomacy danger if you have a card in your hand with the red wax seal image. Discard that card from your hand and place a black disk over that dark circle danger on the most recent route card. Now, look back over the entire line of route cards in front of you. If the number of diplomacy dangers on your route is down to just one, you are safe and no bad effects happen! If there's a second diplomacy danger anywhere else in the line, all the bad stuff on all those cards occurs.

Hope this helps!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sergio Nieto
Brazil
flag msg tools

Steve, you couldn't be more clear. Thanks a lot!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve O'Rourke
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Happy to help, Sergio! The rules take a little while to become second nature, but it's a smooth game once it all clicks into place for you.

Hope you are enjoying it as much as I am!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kris Ardianto
Indonesia
DKI Jakarta - Jakarta Utara
flag msg tools
designer
badge
https://www.facebook.com/gopopnow
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So if the immediate danger cannot be resolved upon drawing the route card, but no two of the same dangers are present, nothing happens and you successfully advance?
So when you take resolve danger action, can I treat the not yet covered immediate danger icon the same as regular danger icons? By discarding an action card with that icon.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve O'Rourke
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe that after the immediate danger has either been resolved or left unresolved, it's just like another regular old danger on the route.

The only thing different about the immediate danger conditions is the ability to resolve them the moment they come out. After that, they are just dangers. Not sure if that answers your question.

And yes, if no danger is duplicated after dealing with or not dealing with the immediate danger, the penalties don't activate.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.