Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The U.S. Civil War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Free Naval Action - Advanced Game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
G W
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mb
In my game we are confused about the Union Free naval action.
Can it be used to perform an amphibious assault against a controlled but vacant hex?
If so, if that action is used can you land 2sp in two different hexes causing 2 amphibious assaults?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Dauphinais
United States
Chesterfield
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Free Naval Action may only be used to move Naval Units and the Naval Units may NOT carry any SPs with them as they move using the Free Naval Move.

See 21.1, the first sentence of 21.7.2 and the last sentence before the Design Note in 21.11.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
G W
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mb
Thanks for the response but I’m not sure you understood. The CSA gets a Free naval move and can invade, right?

The rule in 21.7.2 does not prohibit free actions carrying SP that I can see.

What is a free action for? Just relocating ships?
The CSA has no ships so why do they have a free naval move?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Dauphinais
United States
Chesterfield
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To be clear, SPs CANNOT use the Free Naval Move and Naval Units using the Free Naval Move may NOT carry SPs.

The CSA has Naval Units. Specifically, River Flotillas and Ironclads. See the first two sentences of 21.2.1.

Are you using the August 2017 rules? The first sentence of 21.7.2 clearly states "(not the Free Naval Action)". You must spend either Action Points or a Special Action Card to activate the Naval Units in question in order for those Naval Units to carry SPs.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Dauphinais
United States
Chesterfield
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
What is a free action for? Just relocating ships?


Just to move Naval Units. Note that this move could be used to win a Naval Battle in order to allow a follow up Amphibious Assault made with a separate follow up Amphibious Assault activation paid for with either Action Points or a Special Action Card. See the 3rd sentence of 21.7.3.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.