Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Queendomino» Forums » Rules

Subject: When do we end the game? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nick Albright
United States
Fort Leavenworth
Kansas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When does the game end for a two-player game (7x7 kingdom)? The rules state, "A game takes a total of 12 rounds, regardless of the number of players, and uses all of the dominoes." (p5) In a two-player game, we can end after 12 rounds, but we cannot end by using all of the dominoes because:

a) there aren't enough dominoes to complete a 7x7 (24 dominoes per player)
b) it would exceed the 12 round limit

Can we get a little clarification?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
miha hančič
Slovenia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Each round a player takes two dominoes, in a two player game you have two kings.

And 7x7 is spaces on a domino not 7x7 dominoes. So it's 48 spaces + the castle one.

Somebody correct me if I'm wrong.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Per Glöde
Sweden
Svitjod
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MI_Butters wrote:
When does the game end for a two-player game (7x7 kingdom)? The rules state, "A game takes a total of 12 rounds, regardless of the number of players, and uses all of the dominoes." (p5) In a two-player game, we can end after 12 rounds, but we cannot end by using all of the dominoes because:

a) there aren't enough dominoes to complete a 7x7 (24 dominoes per player)
b) it would exceed the 12 round limit

Can we get a little clarification?

In a two player game you take 2 tiles per player and round. This is 12X2 = 24 tiles = 48 squares, which fit nicely on a 7X7 grid.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Soto
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The setup for a 2 player game is very similar to a 3 or 4 player game (use all 48 dominoes, lay out 4 per round), except that each player uses both of their meeples instead of only 1. In the first round of the game, randomly pick 1 of the 2 colors, first player chooses 1 domino, the second chooses 2, and the first takes the remaining domino (by placing the meeples on the dominoes). After the first round you go through actions A-E in order, starting with the first meeple in the row (It can happen that one or both players will get their 2 turns in a row, but you're still able to Tax, Buy, and/or Hire the Dragon during that meeple's turn. Both turns happen separately). Also, in the final round (no new tiles are revealed, just placing the last claimed tile), you still get a chance to Tax,Buy and/or Hire the dragon before you finalize your turn. The game ends after the fourth turn is finalized, as I call ending your turn. This is how you get to a 12 round game placing (or discarding) all 48 tiles (24 per player).

So, in the instance of the following turn order

Red
White
White
Red

White takes both turns, one at a time, not simultaneously.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Albright
United States
Fort Leavenworth
Kansas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just figured it out. Boy, we’re we dumb! Makes total sense now.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.