Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Another Movement Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stefan

Deutschland
msg tools
mb
What happens when there are several ways to get in reach. In the picture where does the Elite Guard go to, 1 OR 2?

Imagine he has 3 Movement and a single melee attack. Is it ambigous and the player can decide?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Imobersteg
United States
Louisville
Colorado
flag msg tools
1 or 2 with the players choosing.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefan

Deutschland
msg tools
mb
Thank you for the quick answer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh K
United States
Bothell
WA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nungunz wrote:
1 or 2 with the players choosing.


To expand on why these spots, all other things being equal monsters will try to move the minimum distance required. The way I remember this is that monsters are lazy.

Monsters:
"Am I using a ranged attack at disadvantage? Eh, should probably back up a step, but one step is plenty, wouldn't want to tire myself out."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt M
United States
NoVA
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jkglife wrote:
nungunz wrote:
1 or 2 with the players choosing.


To expand on why these spots, all other things being equal monsters will try to move the minimum distance required. The way I remember this is that monsters are lazy.

Monsters:
"Am I using a ranged attack at disadvantage? Eh, should probably back up a step, but one step is plenty, wouldn't want to tire myself out."


But they will (if i recall correctly) move to maximize their damage output. If Elite Guard had a Target 2 ability, he would move to 3. I know this is beyond what the OP asked, but if someone else is reading this, they may be lazy monsters but they are opportunistic.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh K
United States
Bothell
WA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Absolutely.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.