Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

The Battles of Waterloo» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
paul taylor
France
flag msg tools
mbmb
The rules are unclear about the effect of Built-up village hexes on Artillery and Cavalry. Some say you can move into a Built-up village hex via a road and stay there and have normal combat functions. Some say you can only transit such a hex via a road, otherwise they are totally prohibited hexes to non-infantry units.?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Albert Valente
msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
WOW, this is a really good question and comes up often in certain scenarios.

The answer depends on the kind of movement being used:

On road strategic movement -- yes
Off road strategic movement -- no

On road tactical movement -- yes
Off road tactical movement -- no

Reduced movement -- no

Withdrawal movement -- no


During strategic movement, if using roads it's OK. But, if going off-road then no. If the unit is off the road, it may not start a road movement into or through a built-up village. Sorry.

During tactical movement, Combat units may use R/P over varied terrain provided they stay on the network throughout movement. If the unit goes off-road or off-path at any time during movement, then the road movement bonus is negated. Thus, even if starting on a road, the unit cannot pass through a built-up village and then exit the road thereafter in the same turn. Again, if the unit is off the road it may not start a road movement into or through a built-up village.

Reduced movement is also not allowed. The unit could be sitting on a road next to the walled village and still not use reduced movement to enter.

Withdrawal movement is also not allowed. If a unit is withdrawing for any reason, it may not enter a walled village even if it is sitting on a road.

To answer the second question -- yes. One may cease movement of artillery or cavalry in a walled village if such movement is allowed. The unit may then defend or attack where it stands. Units may use any permissible movement to exit the hex, and cavalry may start a charge from that hex.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.