Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Mythic Battles: Pantheon» Forums » Rules

Subject: Flying vs enemy units, Omphalos and Rocks rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dizdi
Greece
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Two small questions after our last game:
1) Do flying units ignore enemy units when moving? What about Chain boundaries?
2) Can a unit with Climb that carries an Omphalos drop it on a rock terrain?

Thanks in advance!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dominick Piantoni
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Flying units fly over all terrain effects. I would assume they would fly over obstacles that include a troop unit.
Of course you can drop a berry on a rock, if units with climb get destroyed you just forced a god killing game if no one can climb the rock to claim the omphalos.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorge Castro
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
noom777 wrote:

Two small questions after our last game:
1) Do flying units ignore enemy units when moving? What about Chain boundaries?
2) Can a unit with Climb that carries an Omphalos drop it on a rock terrain?

Thanks in advance!


1. Per page 13, Flying units ignore all terrain effects and a unit’s walk/run ends as soon as it enters an area containing one or more enemy units.
So yes, flying units need to stop.

Per page 14. "Tartarus chains: non-flying units without Climb talent must end their walk or run action after moving through this boundary."
If that is not clear; flying units do ignore Tartarus Chains.

2. Per page 22, "Dropping omphalos When a unit drops an omphalos, it is placed on the board in the unit’s area. It is now unclaimed."
If that is not clear; Yes, you can drop an omphalos in the uni's area, not exuding any areas. FYI, Walls are not an area.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raph Moimoi
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
noom777 wrote:

Two small questions after our last game:
1) Do flying units ignore enemy units when moving? What about Chain boundaries?
2) Can a unit with Climb that carries an Omphalos drop it on a rock terrain?

Thanks in advance!


Any unit must stop when it enters a zone containing enemy units (flying or not).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorge Castro
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MonkeyD609 wrote:
Flying units fly over all terrain effects. I would assume they would fly over obstacles that include a troop unit.
Of course you can drop a berry on a rock, if units with climb get destroyed you just forced a god killing game if no one can climb the rock to claim the omphalos.


Why assume when you could read the rules and know? Also why answer when you actually don't know? Is giving an incorrect answer more useful than not answering at all?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dominick Piantoni
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Because I can.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorge Castro
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MonkeyD609 wrote:
Because I can.


lol. This explains so much. Thank you for your contribution. whistle
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Beiter
United States
Tonawanda
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To my understanding, flyers can ignore all enemy units when flying over their territory.

Sadly I do not have the book in front of me to quote the page.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philippe Halin
msg tools
Jorge Castro has already quoted the rule: page 13
For the exact wording
"A unit's ends as soon as it enters an area containing one or more ennemy units"

So units unregarding flying or not stops when encountering territory with ennemies. Meaning also that flyers cannot ignore ennemy units when flying over territory.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.