(Mr.) Kim Beattie
Embrace your inner geek!
In Flanders fields the poppies blow Between the crosses, row on row, That mark our place; and in the sky The larks, still bravely singing, fly Scarce heard amid the guns below.
Culled from postings on Consim World and the 9NW "Living Rules". Current as of July 25, 2007.
On the Random Events Check Sequence Table, located in the lower-right corner of the mapsheet, the numeric references to the rules involved are wrong. That is, where “see 6.1” is shown, it should read “see 6.2. On that same table, simply ignore the last line to text, which reads: “Canadian Colonies (see 6.7).”
In the Alexandria/Suez box, when that base area splits in two, put “Alexandria” ships in the southwest half and “Suez” ships in the northeast half.
Unit Counter Errata:
The US ship “United States,” a 5-3-8, should have an asterisked ten in its upper corner (10*).
Section 9.2, Section 9.3 and Section 9.4:
These sections refer to section 9.6. There is no section 9.6. Such references should be changed to refer to Section 9.5 Contested Narrows Damage Checks.
The first sentence should be changed to read "During any game turns..." (remove the word "one" after the world "any".)
14.0 Q & A
Q. If departing from Cherbourg, German convoys do have to make a speed roll to reach the South Atlantic, correct? If the speed roll is failed, the convoy returns to Cherbourg and the Allies receive victory points?
Answer: No, see paragraph four of rule 8.3.
Q. Can German convoys be screened by escorting German ships, like aircraft carriers?
Q. Or can the Allies concentrate their fire on the convoys and ignore the escorting CP ships?
Answer: Yes. The idea is, this is a long-range, high-risk operation for the Germans. On the other hand, though, you can try it as many times as you like, when you like, over the course of a game. You should only declare such attempts on game turns when the starting overall fleet dispositions are such that it looks like you’ve got a good chance to get the convoys through. Of course, the longer you wait, the more chance the African colonies will fall prior to the reinforcement convoys setting sail. The idea here is this is ‘ploy’ the Germans may be able to use to secure a few more VP over the course of the game – it’s not meant to be a central tenant of their general, overall strategic approach to the war.
Q. There is no requirement for all ships to be attacked before assigning a second (or more) ships to attack a target, correct?
Answer: other than the stricture set out in 11.12, there is no such requirement.
Q. The status of USA and Canada as a port is confusing. The Red line surrounding the USA and Canada touches on the North and Central Atlantic. This leads us to think that ships in USA and Canada can move directly into the North and Central Atlantic without making speed rolls.
Answer: correct. Treat the US/Canada box as if it were a solid area of land directly abutting against the waters of the North and Central Atlantic. No speed rolls necessary.
The "Living Rules" can be found at the Decision Games web site:
About the status of the USA & Canada box; your answer seem to imply that the fleet could go directly to the NORTH or CENTRAL ATLANTIC in ONE move from that base. Does it mean that from there (if they're not enemy controlled ) it could then move ( with a speed roll ) to either the NORTH SEA or the SOUTH ATLANTIC?
Also if the above is right, what happen to the ''ALLIED GREAT CIRCLE ROUTE MOVEMENT''(re.# 8.5) if the movement from Base to Base is not permitted. Should this rule be no longer valid?
Following that logic, I guess the allied fleet that are left in control of the NORTH and/or CENTRAL ATLANTIC at the end of their turn could return to the US/CANADA base?
Mysterons - my kind of club...