Is there rule which way I have to claim my route regarding to destination card? Does it have to follow line drawn on destination card? Or can it be any direction even if might not to be shortest route between those designated two stations. Thank you!
The rule as quoted below (with my highlight) is open ended - simply connect any way you choose.
Each Destination Ticket includes the name of two cities on the map and a Point Value. If a player successfully completes a series of routes that connect the two cities, they will add the amount of points indicated on the Destination Ticket to their point totals at the end of the game. If they do not successfully connect the two cities, they deductthe amount of points indicated.