1 Posts

Shadows over Camelot» Forums » Reviews

Subject: Shadows over Camelot - My first go at a review rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gary Goh
flag msg tools
Budding wargamer
My role model for his brains, calm demeanour and appetite for snacks!
As the title says, this is my first attempt at creating a review and I have chosen to do it for my gateway game. In this review, I break it down into 3 parts:

"History" - how I first came across this game, and what attracted me to give it a go.
"Gameplay" - provides a general outlook on the game without going into too much detail
"My Thoughts" - reveals my personal feelings about the game from my gaming experience.

I often wondered whether cooperative games could exist in the boardgaming world and was pleasantly surprised to find that they actually did. I stumbled upon Shadows over Camelot when I was surfing Boardgamegeek and was taken aback (in a good way, of course) at the lovely artwork and pieces that came with the game.

So what's so special about a cooperative boardgame? To begin with, most games require players to pit themselves against one another so as to come out triumphant at the end of the game. On the other hand, cooperative games require players to compete, not with each other, but against the game itself. If this is the case, one might ask how this game can be interesting, if ALL players can theoretically work with one another to bring about a joint victory for themselves? The catch here is, the players are ramping up the difficulty level in these games as gameplay progresses. How this is done is unique to each cooperative game, so I will only touch on this aspect for Shadows over Camelot.