We have a rather unusual situation in our game. We're at the first Winter Quarter of the long campaign. Indians have one village, and the Patriots one beleaguered fort. Per this Severe Winter condition on the WQ, whoever is ahead on the secondary victory condition needs to lose a village or fort. With a nominal 1 and 1, a strict reading of the rules (Pats + 3 forts > than Indian villages) says the Patriots need to lose that one fort. Is this a correct reading
Theoretically, you could have a Pat with no forts, and the Indians with one village, and the Pats need to lose a fort they don't have. Since they can't have a negative number of forts, I assume nothing would happen in that case.