Thumb up
1 Posts

A Handful of Stars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Timing of Diplomacy Card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dither Dither
flag msg tools
Apologies if this has already been addressed.

I seek a clarification on the timing of the Diplomacy card. In one game, I got into an endless cycle of frustration where I would need a few rounds to get sufficient resources to move my fleet to a system to attack, only to find my opponent playing his diplomacy card. Given I had insufficient resources to immediately attack again, I would need a few turns to generate them. By which time my opponent was able to go thru his deck and have the diplomacy card ready again.

It occurred to me I could just send a single fleet on the first action of a turn. He then plays the diplomacy card. That action is wasted, but on the next action I again attack and he is no longer protected.

However, the rulebook states on the card "You cannot play this card after you have added to the combat strength". But, as defender, you do not add to the combat strength until the attacker has committed a number of troops in excess of the defender. He can wait until I commit all my troops before playing the card. So the strategy of the first action single fleet attack would not work.

How are other people experiencing the Diplomacy card in play, as its seems to make the player holding it too powerful.
 Thumb up
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.