Guys, I have the following question regarding effects of “grounding” and “destroyed on runway” results obtained during CRATERING mission, on new air units received as reinforcements (or transferred from other theaters).
Let’s have a look into the rules:
RULE 9: THE AIR WAR
B. Maintenance: During the aircraft maintenance phase, each player rolls one die for each of his units in the flown box of the air status chart. If the die roll is less than or equal to the unit’s serviceability rating, place it in the available box of the same theater. Units which fail their maintenance rolls remain in the flown box and are not available to fly missions in that turn.
E.3.b Runway Cratering: If the unit survives air combat and air defense fire, roll the die a number of times equal to its strike rating. Each roll of 4 or 5 adds one crater to the enemy crater track. Each roll of 6 destroys one enemy air unit; record the number of units destroyed on the crater track, using the destroyed on runway marker. In the aircraft maintenance phase of the next turn, randomly choose that number of units from the available box and move them to the shot down box.
RULE 14: GROUNDING
A. Grounding Procedure: All grounding occurs during the aircraft maintenance phase. First, randomly choose a number of air units from the available box equal to the number of craters on the crater track and place them in the grounded box.
B. Effects: Grounded air units may not fly that turn. All grounded units are returned to the available box in the unsupplied/grounded recovery phase of the turn.
RULE 15: NEW UNITS
A. Air Units: Air units are received at the start of the aircraft maintenance phase. They are placed in the available box of any theater on the air status chart, and thus are available to fly missions that turn.
1. All “grounded” aircraft return to AVAILABLE box without maintenance die roll
2. If Player 1 gets, say 3 x DESTROYED ON RUNWAY and 5 GROUNDED results in Turn 1, then what happens to air reinforcements of Player 2, being received in Turn 2? Are those reinforcements subject to GROUNDING and DESTR. ON RUNWAY?
IMHO yes, ‘cause they’re received immediately at START of the air maintenance phase
, and only after that the mentioned results of CRATERING (from the previous, i.e. 1, Turn) are applied to ALL available air units.
But I need a clarification of that rule.
3. Are the CRATERING results applied BEFORE or AFTER Maintenance Die Rolls? I.e. can the “flown” aircraft, which are being returned to service via Maintenance, be subject to CRATERING or not?
4. Can the air units transferred from other Theaters also be subject to CRATERING?
RULE 9: THE AIR WAR
A.2. Range: (…) When transferring from the available box, air units may transfer to any theater. When transferring after flying a mission or returning from an abort, medium-range air units may transfer to an adjacent theater, and long- and intercontinental-range air units may transfer to any theater.
a) WHEN is the TANSFER made? During the Theater Air Superiority phase?
b) If I make a TRANSFER at the beginning of Turn 1, can I use the transferred air unit in THE SAME Turn?