What about having an assistant who gives you influence for bumping a player? For example, you have no influence but that set up is in place.
Can you place your worker, bump a player, take the influence, then spend the influence to use the cloudport? Or must you have influence in hand in order to place the worker in the first place?
Yes that is a legal play
Spoiler (click to reveal)
based on the rules for minions, which allows you to place if you get the required resource from the minion placement.
You get the resource before you are required to spend it timing wise.