Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Dinosaur Island» Forums » Rules

Subject: Specialist that you get DNA in phase one when someone else does rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
inkey jones
msg tools
I forget the name of the specialist

But the one that says something like - once a round, when someone else sends a scientist to get DNA [Phase one - when they put scientist under the 'amber' dice] - you can get the same DNA for yourself

If they [for example] put scientist 3 - on 'any' basic DNA... does that mean I can use my specialists power and get 3 x 'any' basic DNA

Or do I have to get the actual basic DNAs that the other person chooses [?]

It obvious in all other situations - as if they put a 3 scientist on yellow DNA... that means I can get 3 yellow DNA... I just wondered if when they select the 'any' basic - or 'any' complex DNA options - whether we have to 'choose' the same DNAs as they did [?]

Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russell McKinney
United States
Clermont
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
The grumpiest grump
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You have to get the actual DNA that the person selected.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremiah
Japan
Okazaki
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
inkD wrote:
I forget the name of the specialist

But the one that says something like - once a round, when someone else sends a scientist to get DNA [Phase one - when they put scientist under the 'amber' dice] - you can get the same DNA for yourself

If they [for example] put scientist 3 - on 'any' basic DNA... does that mean I can use my specialists power and get 3 x 'any' basic DNA

Or do I have to get the actual basic DNAs that the other person chooses [?]

It obvious in all other situations - as if they put a 3 scientist on yellow DNA... that means I can get 3 yellow DNA... I just wondered if when they select the 'any' basic - or 'any' complex DNA options - whether we have to 'choose' the same DNAs as they did [?]

Thanks


You're talking about the Computer Programmer specialist, and this is answered in the FAQ (https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1900266/dinosaur-island-faq):

Q: The Computer Programmer allows you to gain the same type and number of DNA, once per round, when another player assigns a scientist to research DNA.

If the player being copied utilizes a Wild DNA die, must the owner of the Computer Programmer take the same DNA chosen by the Scientist or may the owner utilize the wild die to take the DNA of choice?
A: (From designers) The computer programmer must take exactly what the other player took.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Smith
United States
Troy
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Computer Programmer is really awesome when you're not trying to be first in turn order. If only one really good die is rolled (wild and/or advanced DNA), and the first player takes it, you can use the Computer Programmer to get the benefit of that die too. She's one of my favorite non-worker Specialists.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Peikert
Germany
flag msg tools
What i would like to know is when do i have to resolve the action ?
Is it somewhere clarified that i have to do it right after the person assigned his worker to the DNA or can i for example wait till everyone is done with his specialists and assign then which DNA from my opponents i want to use ?

Best regards,
Chris
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russell McKinney
United States
Clermont
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
The grumpiest grump
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chris18376 wrote:
What i would like to know is when do i have to resolve the action ?
Is it somewhere clarified that i have to do it right after the person assigned his worker to the DNA or can i for example wait till everyone is done with his specialists and assign then which DNA from my opponents i want to use ?

Best regards,
Chris


I assume it is implying that it’s at the same time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Peikert
Germany
flag msg tools
So right away after my opponent assigned his specialist to the DNA i want to use ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russell McKinney
United States
Clermont
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
The grumpiest grump
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chris18376 wrote:
So right away after my opponent assigned his specialist to the DNA i want to use ?


Opponent selects x DNA and moves their cube up on the cold storage track for that specific DNA type.

You, using the Computer Programmer, then move your cube up on the same cold storage track at the same time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.