Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Spirit Island» Forums » Rules

Subject: Powerstorm rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Charlie Roselius
United States
Santa Monica
California
flag msg tools
https://sick.oberien.de/?query=powerstorm

...can Powerstorm infinite loop itself and 2 zero-cost cards? I'm not sure if 'once this turn' means that it can only be played on each spirit once, or if per cast of powerstorm it grants that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrik Severinsson
Sweden
Sundbyberg
Sundbyberg
flag msg tools
...microbrewed beer.
badge
...more hops, better die rolls.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd say Powerstorm can only loop itself once (because of the "Once this turn" clause).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
toeknee n
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jozrael wrote:
https://sick.oberien.de/?query=powerstorm

...can Powerstorm infinite loop itself and 2 zero-cost cards? I'm not sure if 'once this turn' means that it can only be played on each spirit once, or if per cast of powerstorm it grants that.


This case is covered by the rules:

rules pg. 19 wrote:
Repeats cannot be chained {ignore any "Repeat effects on a Repeated Power).
7 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
R. Eric Reuss
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
rules pg. 19 wrote:
Repeats cannot be chained {ignore any "Repeat effects on a Repeated Power).

This. If you Repeat Powerstorm (using itself or, eg, Gift of Strength), all it does is give the target 3 Energy, even if you hit the threshold.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
R. Eric Reuss
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
darker wrote:
rules pg. 19 wrote:
Repeats cannot be chained {ignore any "Repeat effects on a Repeated Power).

This. If you Repeat Powerstorm (using itself or, eg, Gift of Strength), all it does is give the target 3 Energy, even if you hit the threshold.

As a bit of ridiculous systems trivia, it *is* hypothetically possible to use the full effects of Powerstorm more than once - if you actually manage to play the Power Card multiple times. This is theoretically achievable, but quite difficult (and probably not worth it) in practice, as you'd need to:

1. Play it normally;
2. Use it;
3. Get it back into your hand;
4. Play it again.

...and currently the only way to do #3 is to Forget and re-acquire it all in the same turn, which is extremely tricky: it not only requires some very specific Powers to set up, but also means you have to be right on the verge of a reshuffle and happen to draw into Powerstorm directly afterwards.

(E.g., Play Powerstorm, use on player X, gain a Major via player X's Entwined Power (forgetting Powerstorm), gain Powerstorm via Repeat of Entwined Power, play it via someone's Spur on with Words of Fire.)
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.