Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Multiple enemy attacks clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Márton Borlay
Hungary
Budapest
Budapest
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the rulebook on page 31 it says:
If a monster has multiple attacks, it will choose the focus of its other attacks following normal focus rules, excluding figures it is already attacking.

Just want to clarify.

Enemy card example one:
Attack, move, attack.
If the monster is next to an enemy, it will attack it, then focus on a different player excluding the one previously selected, then try to move towards that player and attack that one, correct?

Attack -1, attack -1, attack -2
If the monster has 3 adjacent characters, it will attack them each once. If there is only one, will it attack it once or three times?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Imobersteg
United States
Louisville
Colorado
flag msg tools
No, in all the cases you mentioned, the monster will attack the same character (unless the character dies and then it will move on the the next focus). This is because each of those attacks are single-target attacks.

Multiple targets only apply to an attack followed by the "Target X" wording where X is the number of enemies targeted.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Márton Borlay
Hungary
Budapest
Budapest
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The quote from the rulebook contradicts that though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Dumais
msg tools
Edit : I was completely wrong here.

borlaym wrote:
In the rulebook on page 31 it says:
If a monster has multiple attacks, it will choose the focus of its other attacks following normal focus rules, excluding figures it is already attacking.

Just want to clarify.

Enemy card example one:
Attack, move, attack.
If the monster is next to an enemy, it will attack it, then focus on a different player excluding the one previously selected, then try to move towards that player and attack that one, correct?

Attack -1, attack -1, attack -2
If the monster has 3 adjacent characters, it will attack them each once. If there is only one, will it attack it once or three times?


First example I think you are right.

Second example, I think since you need to exclude figures it has already attacked, if thee is only 1 adjacent character, the monster will only attack that character once with the first Attack -1.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael T.
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are indeed monsters that have always multiple attacks.

In your first case they would attack the nearest target(s), then move BUT ONLY if they could reach MORE targets by moving, then attack those targets again.

the second case is not a case of multiple attacks, as all 3 attacks are against the focus and if the monster is able to attack multiple focussed enemies each enemy would get hit 3 times.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel Cwertetschka
Germany
Vienna
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Gloomhaven: Forgotten Circles!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Sauro
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
borlaym wrote:
The quote from the rulebook contradicts that though.
It's worded suboptimally rather than being contradictory. That quote is intended to be about a single multi-target attack ability line rather than two or more separate single-target attack ability lines.

If it helps, think of it this way: by the time the second attack ability line is reached, the monster is not "already attacking" the target from the first attack ability line; it has already attacked the figure from the first line and then moved on to another ability line.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Dumais
msg tools
I stand corrected...

This is from the official FAQ :

Note that the wording on Page 31 of the rule book regarding monster multiple attacks should read "If the monster can target multiple figures with a single ability..." instead of the "If the monster has multiple attacks..."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Márton Borlay
Hungary
Budapest
Budapest
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Edumais wrote:
I stand corrected...

This is from the official FAQ :

Note that the wording on Page 31 of the rule book regarding monster multiple attacks should read "If the monster can target multiple figures with a single ability..." instead of the "If the monster has multiple attacks..."


Awesome, thanks, that clarifies it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
thespaceinvader -
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Monsters having attack-move-attack is a little odd, but functionally what it does it break up their attacks such that if they're NOT adjacent to a target when they start, they don't do as much damage.

I.e., it means that they don't get a full double attack unless they're already next to something - but if the first attack goes off, unless it outright Exhausts a hero or pops a summon, the move won't matter, and the second attack will hit the same target.

It also means that potentially the first might Poison and the second trigger the Poison.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.