Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: unlocking scenarios rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Phil Cunny
msg tools
Newbie question

Pretty sure i have this but just to make sure could someone please confirm - having successfully completed scenario 1, scenario 2 has automatically become unlocked. I can now place the sticker for scenario 2 on the board?

many thanks in advance.
Kind Regards
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel Cwertetschka
Germany
Vienna
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Gloomhaven: Forgotten Circles!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
read the conclusion and rewards of scenario 1 - there you see what you unlock and where to proceed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bradley Martin
Canada
north bay
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
if a location/scenario is unlocked, that means you place the sticker on the map. The stickers are meant to indicate all unlocked scenarios so you know where you can go.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Leonard
United States
McAllen
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does this mean the party can travel to any location (number with a circle) on the board? Even if there's not an event setting it up?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A Kar
msg tools
More or less, yes. Some scenarios will have achievement requirements—achievements that must or must not be on the board. But if that’s not the case, or it is and you fulfill the requirement, there’s nothing more you need to do. Whatever you did to unlock it was enough!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
You add a sticker when you successfully complete a scenario, and that scenario has another (or more than one) scenario listed under the "New Locations" tab in the Conclusion section. This listing will include the Name of the new scenario(s), a little white circle with the corresponding scenario number, and a grid coordinate giving you a rough idea of where the new location is found on the map board.

The white circle number will also be mentioned somewhere in the conclusion text itself, usually with some flavor text indicating why the party might go there. But just because a location (circled number) is mentioned in flavor text, doesn't mean that that location is automatically unlocked. It is only unlocked if it is listed as "New Location" MOST of the time the two coincide, but there are some exceptions
Spoiler (click to reveal)
most notably scenario #14, which mentions a number of different locations in the flavor text, but doesn't actually unlock any of them, but it does award a particular global acheivement that is required in order to be able to undertake those scenarios that are listed
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Jittle wrote:
Does this mean the party can travel to any location (number with a circle) on the board? Even if there's not an event setting it up?

I suppose the party could travel to any of the circled numbers on the board at any time. But unless there is a scenario that has been unlocked at that location (and the proper Global and Party Achievement requirements are met), they can't actually DO anything at that location. (nor would they draw a Road Event, since those are only used when traveling to a Scenario in Campaign Mode).

I'm not sure if the Gloomhaven region has a tourism bureau, but hey, who doesn't enjoy having a picnic in the Dagger Forest in the springtime?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jittle wrote:
Does this mean the party can travel to any location (number with a circle) on the board? Even if there's not an event setting it up?


Uh, no. Not unless there's a sticker on the board where that number is. Just the number with a circle indicates a place where you may eventually unlock a scenario that can be played, but you can't go there and play it until it's unlocked.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.