Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

Photosynthesis» Forums » Reviews

Subject: Initial Thoughts on Photosynthesis: How Does The Synthesis Balance Out? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Williams
Australia
flag msg tools
Disclaimer: this kind-of-review comes after just a couple of plays. We haven’t quite figured out all the complexities of the different strategies and I’m far from an expert. But here are some early thoughts.

I was very excited to get my copy of Photosynthesis; it looks like a beautiful game and the concept was unusual and intriguing. I’m the sort of person who rates originality and creativity above trivial things like, say, intelligence or charm or religious views or political affiliations. I like to see things I’ve never seen before. And I’d never seen a game based on trees in a forest vying for precious sunlight.

It follows, then, that my biggest hope (and fear) is that the theme comes out as strong – preferably stronger – than the mechanics. Again, my personal preference in gaming is the sweet spot where you cannot tell whether a game design originated with mechanics and a theme was added on, or if the theme was used to build bespoke mechanics to represent it. This utopia is rare, but suffice it to say that I’d rather play something like Panic Station with all the flaws and ‘suspensions of disbelief’ in its mechanics than Yet Another Factory-Produced Abstract Eurogame where you build trains or farm fields or trade corn for diamonds. It may make me vastly unpopular, but I don’t greatly enjoy Catan or Ticket To Ride.

So, then, the question becomes: “Does the theme of Photosynthesis hold up and immerse you in the underlying concept?”

And the short answer is: No.