Subject: Games that allow "master strategist" to play with normal players rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ad Coelum
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mb
My spouse is an analyst by trade and a "master strategist" when playing games. Once a game's weakness is found, it will be exploited to the greatest extent possible. Turns take at least 5 minutes, everyone else is bored, and sometimes we end up with half the players unable to even do anything on their turns. This has rendered useless several games that were enjoyable the first time through (7 Wonders Duel, for example).

We have an entire box full of games that I just will not even try to play (Memoir '44, Risk, Stratego, Squad Leader ...) because I do not want to end up divorced.

Examples of two player games we've liked include Cartagena, Carcassonne - The Castle, Mr. Jack (and Mr. Jack Pocket). We've also enjoyed Takenoko, Tikal, Thebes, Exploding Kittens, and several of the Catan variants, including Starfarers and the original flavor.

When we play with friends, we can avoid the extended strategizing by playing "party" games such as CAH, and I plan to get Galaxy Truckers soon to try out with the friends who will still play board games with us.

So, I'm especially looking for some ideas for two-player games. Cooperative or simultaneous play, that sort of thing. Any help out there?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Momo Momo
Canada
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Play games with multiple ways of winning. Games where there isn't one clear, better way to victory.

Caverna: The Cave Farmers came to mind.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Momo Momo
Canada
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Though, if analysis paralysis is the main problem, forget it. They'll end up staring at the possible actions for days, and then a few more days at the rooms, of they so choose to furnish a cavern.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raven Snow
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb