Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Empires of the Void II» Forums » Rules

Subject: What the point with "exact" expending of resources ? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
M B
France
FONSORBES
Haute-Garonne
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm sure this is not really important but it tweaks my brain since I read it for the first time !

On page 9, where the Action Track is described, the rulebook says that when a needed resource is tagged "Exact", you have to pay this exact resource. Duh.

What's the difference when "Exact" is not written ? Is that only to distinguish the fact that Move & Attack is one Command for each Movement and not one Command only no matter how many Movement you've done, for example?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brenna Asplund
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You're correct about the Move & Attack action; it doesn't say "exact" because how much Command you have to spend depends on how far you're moving. But this particular rule also refers to the Research & Build action (which shows a resource cost of goods, power, and money), the Card Action or Diplomacy action (which shows a resources cost of cards and power), and the Recruit action (which shows a resource cost of money). All of these action spaces show resource costs but don't say "exact" because the amount of these resources that you have to spend depends on other factors. The only spaces which say "exact" are Scavenge (1 Command for any action) and Any Action (2 Command). These are the only spaces with exact costs (although there may be additional costs afterward, depending on which action you choose as your "Any Action".)
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M B
France
FONSORBES
Haute-Garonne
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CepheidVariable wrote:
You're correct about the Move & Attack action; it doesn't say "exact" because how much Command you have to spend depends on how far you're moving. But this particular rule also refers to the Research & Build action (which shows a resource cost of goods, power, and money), the Card Action or Diplomacy action (which shows a resources cost of cards and power), and the Recruit action (which shows a resource cost of money). All of these action spaces show resource costs but don't say "exact" because the amount of these resources that you have to spend depends on other factors. The only spaces which say "exact" are Scavenge (1 Command for any action) and Any Action (2 Command). These are the only spaces with exact costs (although there may be additional costs afterward, depending on which action you choose as your "Any Action".)

Thank you for this confirmation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.