Des T.
Germany
flag msg tools
This user optimizes his gaming experience.
badge
This user might be a mutant in hiding.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm so sure someone will point me to the rules or FAQ section I missed, but the wife and I spent 20 minutes searching.

How do NPCs (like Hail) interact with status effects? Can they be wounded or poisoned, is it possible to make them invisible? What about stun or immobilize?

We were pretty sure they can be healed, but slightly boggled on things like wound or invisibility.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Willott
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The section on conditions talks about "figures" which include any characters, monsters or their summons, so it should apply to all three.

Note that this section just tells you to put the condition on the stat sleeve (which only applies to monsters), any reasonable interpretation would extend this to a allow conditions in characters, too, and by the same inference, their summons would be included.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Des T.
Germany
flag msg tools
This user optimizes his gaming experience.
badge
This user might be a mutant in hiding.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Willottica wrote:
The section on conditions talks about "figures" which include any characters, monsters or their summons, so it should apply to all three.

That's exactly our problem. The NPC is none of those, and is usually represented by a scenario aid token. So it's not really a figure, in most definitions of the word, either.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fito R
Argentina
flag msg tools
Avatar
If you have a question about a specific scenario, it's best to put the scenario number in the actual title.

As for your question, player summons aren't really figures either, and they can be affected by status effects. Obstacles with HP are specifically called out as immune to status effects. Lacking such a conditional, I would rule that Hail can indeed be affected by anything.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Des T.
Germany
flag msg tools
This user optimizes his gaming experience.
badge
This user might be a mutant in hiding.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Joou wrote:
If you have a question about a specific scenario, it's best to put the scenario number in the actual title.

As for your question, player summons aren't really figures either, and they can be affected by status effects. Obstacles with HP are specifically called out as immune to status effects. Lacking such a conditional, I would rule that Hail can indeed be affected by anything.


There's multiple missions where you escort Hail, and it feels more like a "general NPC" issue than a mission specific thing.

That being said, your interpretation is sound. It just felt a bit strange. In scenario 27, she's technically immune to everything but poison, wound, invisible, heal and damage. With all the immunities (not explicitely noted), I guess I expected global immunity to apply.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Willott
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
P18, "an ally is any figure that fights with a character"

This, and all other references to figures I can find seems to use it as a generic term for any thing that takes a turn and does actions (i.e any player's character, summons, monsters, and -- I assume -- other NPCs.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Marney
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmb
Yes, you can heal your NPC allies, unless the scenario specifically states otherwise. Yes, conditions affect them, unless the scenario states otherwise. (Note that for destructible objects, they are by default immune to all conditions; you can't exactly poison a wall.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Des T.
Germany
flag msg tools
This user optimizes his gaming experience.
badge
This user might be a mutant in hiding.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hrm. Unsatisfying, but I guess we'll run with it. I was hoping the was some section we'd missed that explicitely spoke of NPCs.

Thanks for the feedback.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Willott
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In scenario 27, hail doesn't take a turn, so does wound do anything to her?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Des T.
Germany
flag msg tools
This user optimizes his gaming experience.
badge
This user might be a mutant in hiding.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Probably not. That was one of my issues with that one. Mechanically, she seems a lot more like a destructible object than an actual figure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.