Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Shadowscape» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clarification: Celenthia Card 150 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joel Parrish
United States
Alabama
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just looking for some clarification. On card 150 for Celenthia it states:
"Deal 2 damage to an Enemy in the same room. Then you may deal 2 damage to a different Enemy in the same or adjacent room."

Initially, the player was using it just to hit Enemies in an adjacent room without having an enemy in the same room. After looking over the card, we decided that unless the first part of the action can be completed, hitting an Enemy in the same room, then the second part of the action would not be able to be used.

We basically treated it as an "If, Then, Else" statement:
IF there is an Enemy in then same room, THEN hit that Enemy for 2 damage and make an additional optional attack, ELSE, you are unable to use this action.

Any idea if that is correct? Can this action be used to hit an adjacent Enemy only if they are able to hit an Enemy in the same room first?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Boctor
Australia
Melbourne
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
kaosthunder wrote:
Just looking for some clarification. On card 150 for Celenthia it states:
"Deal 2 damage to an Enemy in the same room. Then you may deal 2 damage to a different Enemy in the same or adjacent room."

Initially, the player was using it just to hit Enemies in an adjacent room without having an enemy in the same room. After looking over the card, we decided that unless the first part of the action can be completed, hitting an Enemy in the same room, then the second part of the action would not be able to be used.

We basically treated it as an "If, Then, Else" statement:
IF there is an Enemy in then same room, THEN hit that Enemy for 2 damage and make an additional optional attack, ELSE, you are unable to use this action.

Any idea if that is correct? Can this action be used to hit an adjacent Enemy only if they are able to hit an Enemy in the same room first?

Probably not too excited to hear from me again so soon, but yes, just from wording.

"Deal 2 damage to an Enemy in the same room.Then you may deal 2 damage to a different Enemy in the same or adjacent room."

The only part of the card that's optional is the second round of damage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Boctor
Australia
Melbourne
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually one thing came to mind which is changing my mind on this.

You're allowed to search a room with no treasure in it.

This is of course only usually pertinent for the sake of some whisper cards, but if you're already allowed to search for nothing, I see no reason why you can't just strike at nothing. Though, that could be a specific exemption that only applies to searching... dagnabbit this seemed so much simpler before you went and asked the question.

Lastly, sorry for the double post.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Parrish
United States
Alabama
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Always excited for other opinions.

Not sure which way to go on this one now. Will probably stay with our original decision unless we hear something official. As always, thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B. G. Kubacki
Poland
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The empty room case is an exception, not a general clarification. So, only the second part of Celenthia's card is optional.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Parrish
United States
Alabama
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for the clarification. Nice to know I was right for once.

Now if we can just find out about the Dungeon Lord, all will be well for a little while.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B. G. Kubacki
Poland
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kaosthunder wrote:
Now if we can just find out about the Dungeon Lord, all will be well for a little while.


Ask away then.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Parrish
United States
Alabama
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Easier to link the thread:

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1924502/defeating-dungeon-l...

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.