Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Timo Kellomäki
Finland
Tampere
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm a newbie struggling to find out what is the strategy to be used in the advanced air war. I'm sorry if the tone of this post seems negative, but I'm not trying to complain, just to analyze and understand. I really like this game.

What I'm especially wondering is why should I use my planes for air striking instead of mostly combat support. It may well be that I'm misunderstanding some rule, or it may be the intention that CS is just better than striking.

If I've understood correctly, the differences between strikes and CS are that CS uses local ADF and can never be intercepted by enemy planes, and CS is automatically successful where about half of the strikes miss. CS effect is +/- CS rating in DRM and strike is usually adding a strike 1 marker. The upside of strikes is that with stand-off weapons against (effective against non-leg targets) you get to shoot before AAA. Weather may halve both numbers, but makes strikes miss even more while they don't affect CS.

Neither can be used for heavily concentrated fire, as there is a limit of 1 or 2 CS planes per combat and 2 strike planes per target. However, as I believe there is no limit to air DRM, the Allies can make one or two very big attacks by getting around 6 points of CS planes plus 3-4 points of helicopter support vs 2-3 points of DPRK air: something like a -5 to -8 DRM makes almost any combat favorable.

Both parties start with a high level of detection and SAM which makes reaching the strike target at all very improbable. For DPRK especially there is also the added risk of interceptors, which together with SAMs seem to make strike attempts suicide runs. For a typical strike in the early game, DPRK SAM 10 near a HQ has a 100 % chance of detection and 40 % chance of a step loss and a typical value 3 strike has a chance less than that to get through with anything.