Chris B
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Hi all, I'm an app programmer with some illustration skills who is looking to make a dent in the digital board game/CCG world.
First off, go gentle with me as I'm not an out and out board-gamer but I like to dabble and have always found the game mechanics and illustration work of board game fascinating, with sci fi-based games my favourite theme.
My circle of friends from way back were heavily into Magic and Shadowrun so I know the absolute basics,but being an avid video gamer I leant towards the digital way of gaming.

Now here I am, a little beyond middle aged and finding myself growing away from the app/games world and leaning towards an area I'd always wanted to explore, traditional strategy games - put to touch screen.

Looking around the net I find a lot of interest in the idea *if done right* and just a little hostility when the idea wanders from the essence of the gameplay and goes all 'digital' and fancy for the sake of it.
To stick to the ideals and ethos of the traditional card or board game I'll mention that this project is based around Augmented Reality, something I've wanted to do to really capture the 'coffee table' environment and make sure that certain elements of the game, be it a die or actual cards are real and can interact with the computer generated aspects of the game. Keeping it real, as the kidz might saywhistle.

This being the first attempt I'm opting to keep things relatively simple, though being a non-board gamer as such means I may struggle with the terminology in explaining things, so anyone whose interest is piqued with this please jump aboard. All areas of help appreciated.

Will hopefully update this thread with any progress. Thanks for reading.

Chris B

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabor B.
Hungary
Straight outta Borsod
flag msg tools
"Virtue is nothing else than right reason."
badge
Goatham.
mbmbmbmbmb
Welcome aboard!