Monsampolo del Tronto (AP)
Where does it say you start with the level 3 ability? Why would they make level 1 and 2 if you never use them?
Page 26 of the rulebook under the paragraph "Ability tree":
"The ability tree works just like the skill tree but you start the campaign with the level 3 ability"
Level 1 and 2 are used when you'll buy a seconda ability: it will start at level 1.
Remember that "The ruin of Thandar" is just the first chapter of a whole campaign (thus heroes will evolve more and more!).
Next campaign deck is called "The lost village"